02-13-2021, 08:57 AM
Free Member

Hi,

I tried using QTGMC to deinterlace this VHS capture only to find that I'm getting flickering colors.

The video seems to have the correct colors on the odd-frames, and distorted colors on the even-frames.

Does anyone know what's causing this and if it can be fixed?

Could it have something to do with the VHS being PAL? I don't know myself, but I hope someone does

Here is the .avs script I used:
Code:
AVISource("Original.avi")
AssumeTFF()
ConverttoYV12(interlaced=true)
QTGMC(preset="medium", FPSDivisor=2)
MCTemporalDenoise(settings="low")

The tape is also a bit noisy, and I'm wondering if there are any ways to improve that. I'm new to Avisynth, so apologies for the very basic script.

Attached images show the color flicker between alternating frames.

Attached videos below are:
1. The original interlaced file
2. QTGMC deinterlaced clip

I hope someone knows what's going wrong - I have a feeling it might be my VCR

Thanks so much for reading all this,
Michael

Attached Images
File Type: jpg Image 1.jpg (121.4 KB, 19 downloads)
File Type: jpg Image 2.jpg (113.3 KB, 14 downloads)
File Type: jpg Image 3.jpg (113.1 KB, 11 downloads)
File Type: jpg Image 4.jpg (126.8 KB, 9 downloads)
Attached Files
File Type: avi Original.avi (95.79 MB, 29 downloads)
File Type: avi QTGMC Deinterlace.avi (85.46 MB, 27 downloads)
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

02-13-2021, 12:02 PM
Free Member

Have a look at the script i've posted in the topic below, that should do it
http://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/vide...oma-noise.html
The following users thank themaster1 for this useful post: thunderbirds93 (02-13-2021)
02-13-2021, 08:55 PM
Free Member

Hi,

Thanks so much for that script. I tried it on the clip and it removed a lot of the flickering.

Although there is still some remaining color flicker. I don't know if that can be fixed or not - can it?

I've attached images below to show the color flickering.