03-07-2021, 11:48 PM
Free Member

I've been chipping away at my project for a few years here now, but I'm always looking for ways to improve my workflow.

For those of you who save two versions of every tape -- interlaced and deinterlaced -- how do you go about it? Do you run two separate scripts from your captured file? Or do you make a deinterlaced version and later go back and run a simple reinterlace script on that lossless version?

I seem to remember Sanlyn writing something about an additional tool he used when reinterlacing beyond just using the SeparateFields().SelectEvery(4,0,3).Weave() command.

Lastly, it is not kosher to run QTGMC on a file then reinterlacing it? Should I be avoiding QTGMC altogether except for my deinterlaced web files?

I feel like I've been wasting a lot of processing time... but here is my "interlaced" script which is pretty much identical to my deinterlaced script with the exception of the Weave command at the end.

Code:
SetFilterMTMode("QTGMC",2)
SetFilterMTMode("AviSource", 3)

#####-----LOAD A FILE
AviSource("I:\Gail 01.avi")
AssumeTFF()

### / YUY2 -----------------------------
ConvertToYV12(interlaced=true) # script below this line requires YV12

### YV12 Color correction
Tweak(cont=1,sat=1.05, dither=true,coring=false)
Levels(8, 0.9, 250, 16, 255,dither=true,coring=false) 

### ------Deinterlacers
#QTGMC(Preset="Medium", Edithreads=4)

### Final resizers for destination format
Crop(18,0,-14,-8).AddBorders(16,4,16,4) 

# ---------------- reinterlace for DVD ---------------- # 
SeparateFields().SelectEvery(4,0,3).Weave() 

# ---- Convert 480i to RGB for VirtualDub filters ----- # 
ConvertToRGB32(interlaced=true,matrix="Rec601") 

Prefetch(threads=14)
return last
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

03-08-2021, 09:22 AM
Free Member

Quote:
Lastly, it is not kosher to run QTGMC on a file then reinterlacing it? Should I be avoiding QTGMC altogether except for my deinterlaced web files?