digitalFAQ.com Forum

digitalFAQ.com Forum (https://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/)
-   Restore, Filter, Improve Quality (https://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/video-restore/)
-   -   Restoring hi8 tapes (https://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/video-restore/11778-restoring-hi8-tapes.html)

sallustius 04-25-2021 07:42 AM

Restoring hi8 tapes

1 Attachment(s)
I am capturing some old hi8 tapes and Im struggling to find out how to improve the quality. For playback I use a DRV-TRV235E, which works great, and for capture I use the hauppauge usb-live2.

The problem is that the capture looks too dark to me and the colors a bit flat. I use the camcorder's lcd for reference and there the image looks much more lively so to say.

I have added a sample. Sometimes the images gets really dark and it becomes hard to see any detail. Especially at the end of the clip

Is the recording done incorrectly or can I fix this in avisynth? If so how? Something with the levels and gamma?

I am a complete newbie to this and avisynth is still somewhat puzzling. From what I get from the histograms, the image should be within bounds. But I may be reading them wrong.

Also two other things I just noticed. When I trimmed a clip in virtualdub to share here I applied huffyuv again otherwise the filesize would just be enormous. Is that ok? And I just noticed that audio is out of sync. I will have to look into that as well...

stymie 04-25-2021 08:45 AM

If trimming a clip in Virtualdub, select Video, then Direct Stream copy and it will save the clip in current video format.

sallustius 04-25-2021 09:34 AM

1 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by stymie (Post 76984)
If trimming a clip in Virtualdub, select Video, then Direct Stream copy and it will save the clip in current video format.

Thanks! Here is a reupload. That makes a difference in filesize.

lollo2 04-25-2021 10:14 AM

3 Attachment(s)
Quote:

I use the camcorder's lcd for reference
How does it look on your TV?