Quantcast S-VHS to digitize all family VHS? - digitalFAQ Forum
  #1  
09-07-2021, 08:51 PM
davidluab davidluab is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Posts: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
This message is translated with google translate, sorry for the translation errors

I want to digitize all family vhs. They are all home movies.

I think I remember our old video was a panasonic. I had a digital scanner, and when I saw photos I remembered it.

Looking for svhs players of the recommended ones I have found Panasonic NV-HS1000 € 200 and Jvc hm-dr10000 € 300

I wanted to know which would be the most recommended, I imagine the panasonic because is the same brand

I want to digitize them to the pc I had thought of the following way "svhs tbc on" svideo connection "dvd panasonic EZ49" hdmi connection "capturer black magic"

seems correct? Will I need an external tbc to clean the signal or can I order the panasonic dvd?

Greetings and thank you
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
09-07-2021, 09:22 PM
latreche34 latreche34 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,196
Thanked 377 Times in 346 Posts
With everyone wanting HDMI I don't know wat to recommend anymore.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
09-07-2021, 10:08 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is online now
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,753
Thanked 2,147 Times in 1,848 Posts
Yes, TBC needed.

No, not a Blackmagic card.
- HDMI bad, loses quality, messes up things like interlace and proper colorspace
- Blackmagic really bad, drops frames even with TBC, and doesn't report the drops
- Proprietary software required, or low-end screen recording software like OBS.

There are better cards for SD video. HDMI not needed, not wanted.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #4  
09-08-2021, 06:52 AM
davidluab davidluab is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Posts: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordsmurf View Post
Yes, TBC needed.

No, not a Blackmagic card.
- HDMI bad, loses quality, messes up things like interlace and proper colorspace
- Blackmagic really bad, drops frames even with TBC, and doesn't report the drops
- Proprietary software required, or low-end screen recording software like OBS.

There are better cards for SD video. HDMI not needed, not wanted.
Thank you so much, Lord smurf

It always seemed strange to me to do it via HDMI, but I read in a forum and i had the doubt.

Can you recommend a TBC that is for sale and I can get it from Europe?

Which capture card do you recommend to capture the uncompressed material?
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Encouragement needed to digitize VHS? ilhank General Discussion 26 08-23-2021 04:03 PM
How to digitize old VHS tapes? RDM56 General Discussion 42 09-03-2016 09:39 AM
Considering PAL equipment to digitize live tapes Towncivilian Project Planning, Workflows 21 03-01-2015 07:07 PM
Planning to digitize a lot of analog VHS and Hi8 videoviking Project Planning, Workflows 3 02-15-2011 10:04 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:07 PM