Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Restore, Filter, Improve Quality

LinkBack Thread Tools
01-03-2023, 02:04 PM
Free Member

Hello,

I am somewhat new to the VHS to Digital space, and have learned a great deal from this forum! I am currently working on converting some VHS outdoor footage using a JVC HR S9600-U with TBC. Capturing using a Hauppauge card, AmaRecTV and a Lagarith codec.

Overall, this setup has been working well for a few dozen captures. However, I'm running into issues when using the TBC on the current batch of VHS I am working on. There is massive distortion/jitter? occasionally occurring on the top edge of the video, though it impacts the whole frame.

In total, This issue is there on 5 of the 17 tapes I am converting. These were all recorded on the same media, around 1995. If I turn TBC off, this issue goes away - though the rest of the quality obviously suffers. If I rewind & try to record again, this happens at the same frames, though sometimes worse than others. Some tapes it only happens for a few seconds, and others 20-30% of the video.

Is this a physical issue with the media, or possibly with the JVC? Or can something be done to correct this? I have not had this issue with other projects.

I have attached a raw short clip, and also linked to google drive where a slightly larger copy is due to upload file size limits.

Thanks!

Google Drive link:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1sQI...usp=share_link

Attached Files
File Type: avi NAHC V 14 Trim.avi (97.51 MB, 20 downloads)
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

01-03-2023, 04:45 PM
Free Member

Update -

It's been brought to my attention this is flagging/tearing. This is giving me the right keywords to research more.

It sounds like a good path would be to look into the Panasonic DMR-ES10/ES15 as a passthrough.
01-03-2023, 05:14 PM
Free Member

Check here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tMA5aH_olAQ
01-03-2023, 06:46 PM
Site Staff | Video

Thanked 2,458 Times in 2,090 Posts