Quantcast When to use bob setting in QTGMC? - digitalFAQ Forum
  #1  
02-07-2022, 09:22 AM
ThumperStrauss ThumperStrauss is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: May 2021
Location: Canada
Posts: 74
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
With an 8mm source (captured with AIW9600XT) I ran it through Hybrid. Under the tabs Filtering -- (De-)Interlace/Telecine I checked the Bob box.. Guide on right side says: If enabled QTGMC will create one frame per field of the source and thus double the frame rate and count. If disabled (default) QTGMC will still create one frame per field of the source, but only output half of the frames and this keep the frame rate and count identical to the source.

When I turn on Bob (ha!) the effect is jerky motion. Going frame by frame, I can see why. It's like for every step forward in frame 1, there is a half-step back in frame 2. I guess this makes sense.

My question: in what kind of source video would one turn on Bob?
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
02-07-2022, 02:15 PM
msgohan msgohan is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 1,323
Thanked 329 Times in 274 Posts
The problem you describe is incorrect assumed field order.

Avisynth by default assumes Bottom Field First for AVI input. I don't know how to do it in Hybrid off the top of my head, but the Avisynth command you need is AssumeTFF (placed before any deinterlace filter). I'm sure QTGMC also has an option to manually force either field order.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
02-07-2022, 04:12 PM
lollo2 lollo2 is online now
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Italy
Posts: 472
Thanked 130 Times in 112 Posts
Quote:
in what kind of source video would one turn on Bob?
All of them.
I am not familiar with Hybrid because I prefer to manually choose all my settings rather than relying on a GUI, but when you deinterlace you want to double the framerate in QTGMC, otherwise you loos ehalf of the motion.
AvsPmod QTGMC script janky and slow?

A channel on S-VHS / VHS capture and AviSynth restoration https://bit.ly/3mHWbkN
Reply With Quote
  #4  
02-07-2022, 04:41 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is online now
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,806
Thanked 2,153 Times in 1,853 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by lollo2 View Post
otherwise you loos ehalf of the motion.
This is not true. It loses some motion, yes, but not half. Remember that QTGMC is interpolating. With some content, arguably you lose nothing. With others, noticeable motion loss (but not anywhere near as often as some seem to think).

In fact, you can create artifacts with 59.94 (50 PAL), which require more Avisynth workarounds, some of it quite complex and lengthy to encode.

So never just double the framerate, and expect it to be fine. Odds are it's not fine. Remember, deinterlace is destructive, and in every way imaginable.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #5  
02-07-2022, 04:52 PM
lollo2 lollo2 is online now
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Italy
Posts: 472
Thanked 130 Times in 112 Posts
Quote:
So never just double the framerate, and expect it to be fine. Odds are it's not fine. Remember, deinterlace is destructive, and in every way imaginable.
My bad, but I did not understand a word. Can you give some example?

A channel on S-VHS / VHS capture and AviSynth restoration https://bit.ly/3mHWbkN
Reply With Quote
  #6  
02-07-2022, 05:04 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is online now
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,806
Thanked 2,153 Times in 1,853 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by lollo2 View Post
My bad, but I did not understand a word. Can you give some example?
I had one in this thread: https://forum.videohelp.com/threads/...h)#post2594630

Had to get some help, poison to my rescue.

Ugly stuff. I started to do more 59.94/50, and started seeing more artifacts as well.
29.97/25 is safer, easier.
Plan carefully. Not blindly.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #7  
02-07-2022, 05:15 PM
lollo2 lollo2 is online now
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Italy
Posts: 472
Thanked 130 Times in 112 Posts
Still not clear to me what you mean.

Interlaced video:
Code:
interlaced frames video, 25 frames (50 fields) per second (25 frames i)
frame1	frame2	frame3	frame4	frame5	frame6	frame7	frame8
A	C	E	G					(field 0) even lines
b	d	f	h					(field 1) odd lines
PAL50Ii --> field 0 and field 1 are even and odd lines of "camera" frames taken at different time
each field contains different temporal data

When you deinterlace:
Code:
frame1	frame2	frame3	frame4	frame5	frame6	frame7	frame8
A	B'	C 	D' 	E	F'	G	H'	(field 0) even lines
a'	b	c'	d	e'	f	g'	h	(field 0) odd lines
x' and X' represents scanlines interpolated from X and x
If you set QTGMC to discharge a frame:
Code:
frame1	frame2	frame3	frame4
A	C 	E	G	(field 0) even lines
a'	c'	e'	g'	(field 0) odd lines
you do loose half of the motion. If there is no motion between the different frames, you do not loose anything, but that's a special case

edit: typos corrected

Last edited by lollo2; 02-07-2022 at 05:35 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
02-08-2022, 05:08 AM
themaster1 themaster1 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 295
Thanked 72 Times in 58 Posts
You're looking for frame interpolation it seems to me, check for Rife-app: https://grisk.itch.io/rife-app

Reply With Quote
  #9  
02-08-2022, 06:35 AM
Hushpower Hushpower is online now
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 387
Thanked 63 Times in 62 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by msgohan
The problem you describe is incorrect assumed field order.

Avisynth by default assumes Bottom Field First for AVI input. I don't know how to do it in Hybrid off the top of my head
This is it...


Attached Images
File Type: jpg Hybrid TFF.jpg (51.7 KB, 13 downloads)
Reply With Quote
The following users thank Hushpower for this useful post: Navitron (02-14-2022)
Reply




Tags
bob, deinterlacing, qtgmc

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
JVC S-VHS-ET setting on HR-S4600U VCR? Glitchy Windows 3.1 Project Planning, Workflows 4 12-29-2020 11:38 AM
Help setting up a LaserDisc Workflow ehbowen Capture, Record, Transfer 0 10-24-2018 07:28 AM
Setting up ATI 600 USB levels? Zerowalker Capture, Record, Transfer 2 07-06-2018 10:32 AM
VCR Input Setting: What does it do? Micheal81 Capture, Record, Transfer 2 01-03-2016 01:09 PM
Bought a new TV, need some help setting it up Tranzor Videography: Cameras, TVs and Players 5 12-18-2007 01:31 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:39 AM