Quantcast AVT-8710 vs 1T-TBC vs TBC-1000 (TBC-100) - Page 3 - digitalFAQ Forum
Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Restore, Filter, Improve Quality

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #41  
04-15-2012, 12:22 AM
monks19 monks19 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 106
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
The best, I think, would be for you to post some photos of your TBC & post them on this page so we can see them.
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #42  
04-15-2012, 12:54 AM
Cyclone82 Cyclone82 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 58
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
They are not mine and they are photos given to me by someone so will have to ask him for permission. But its pretty basic. See the orange board in the photos above, well that is totally missing and instead that 3 legged tansistor type thing is mounted where that spare space is on the TBC100 board. Power is input to the TBC100 board in that little clear/white connector next to the molex connector for PC use.

I plan to buy a TBC1000 this week. Will be interesting to see what version i get.

Here this explains it.

Also i have seen some with the RCA nd S-video connectors on the internal TBC100 board reomved and some with them still in place.

Could not add photo to above post for some reason
http://i1105.photobucket.com/albums/...tversion-1.jpg

Would like to see the BNC connector mod mentioned by another member earlier in the thread too.

differentversion-1.jpg



Last edited by kpmedia; 04-15-2012 at 01:40 AM. Reason: merged/fixed posts. -KP
Reply With Quote
  #43  
08-09-2012, 07:05 AM
juhok juhok is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 379
Thanked 105 Times in 87 Posts
Here's my take on the TBC-1000 mod. I could've made it prettier but it's for work, not for show.


Attached Images
File Type: jpg tbc-mod-1.jpg (100.0 KB, 123 downloads)
File Type: jpg tbc-mod-2.jpg (124.9 KB, 108 downloads)
File Type: jpg tbc-mod-3.jpg (43.2 KB, 95 downloads)
Reply With Quote
  #44  
08-29-2012, 02:24 PM
juhok juhok is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 379
Thanked 105 Times in 87 Posts
DSC_6278.png

WIP

I got a new converter/TBC on the way so I went crazy on TBC-100 board. BNCs made a big difference compared to crappy DIN4/S-video connectors I used before. After modding is ready I probably will sell it if anyone is interested.


Reply With Quote
  #45  
09-10-2012, 03:24 PM
juhok juhok is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 379
Thanked 105 Times in 87 Posts
Final version. Had to insulate the BNCs because of Y/C - composite detection logic. Only 1 of 6 would've needed the insulation but meh. What's done is done. Also added separate ferrite cores for both Y/C in and out. TBC-100 board will pick up a lot of noise without the ferrites so I recommend every modder to keep the original or buy new ones. Cable used is RG174A.

tbc1001a.jpg
You must be logged in to view this content; either login or register for the forum. The attached screen shots, before/after images, photos and graphics are created/posted for the benefit of site members. And you are invited to join our digital media community.


Reply With Quote
  #46  
11-12-2012, 02:17 AM
Springsteen85 Springsteen85 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Sorry, I did not understand which of the 4 is better:
- Cypress / TVOne 1T-TBC
- AVToolbox / TVOne AVT-8710
- Datavideo TBC-100
- Cypress CTB-100
I have forgotten anyone?
There are cheaper?
Reply With Quote
  #47  
07-15-2016, 09:27 AM
fritolays fritolays is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Howdy friends,

Looking for a bit more info...

What is the actual pinout for the TBC-1000 svideo & composite input/outputs ?

Going from svideo female to 4pin cd/audio plug
SVideo -----------------------------------> 4pin plug
pin 1 - Ground Y ------------------------> pin # ?
pin 2 - Ground C -----------------------> pin # ?
pin 3 - Y - Intensity (Luminance) ----> pin # ?
pin 4 - C - Color (Chrominance) -----> pin # ?

And RCA female to 2pin IDC plug
RCA -------------------> 2pin plug
Signal ----------------> pin # ?
Ground ---------------> pin # ?

Just wanted to confirm before I order the cables, thanks kindly,
Reply With Quote
  #48  
04-10-2017, 01:45 PM
glazuna glazuna is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Slovenia
Posts: 37
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bugs.Bunny View Post
Got my TBC-1000 and as promised here are the images:

Attachment 1303
Attachment 1304

Higher res shots:
http://img155.imageshack.us/img155/8991/tbc10001.jpg
http://img715.imageshack.us/img715/8819/tbc10002.jpg

Also got a Panasonic NV-HS 1000 and I am quite happy with the quality.
Was not very happy with my JVC HR S8960E I bought new years ago. (DNR leaves artifacts sometimes).
Only thing that's still left on my to do list is exchange the ADVC 110 to a Backmagic Intensity Shuttle well and probably do the TBC-1000 mod as well.

Mine seems to have the connectors already on the TBC-100 and even says DataVideo TBC-100 on the board...



Reply With Quote
  #49  
02-08-2018, 08:10 PM
JohnnyBravo99 JohnnyBravo99 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Do you still have any of these modded cables for sale?
Reply With Quote
  #50  
03-11-2019, 07:53 PM
mikewren mikewren is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 10
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Stumbled on a tvONE 1T-TBC from Adorama on "closeout" for a shade over $500 delivered. Despite the warns from LS about the different version logic boards wearing the 1T-TBC badge, figured I would take a shot at this and return within the 30 day window if it doesn't fit my needs.

Below is the logic board - quite a bit different layout from the board on the first page of this thread.

It passes video as expected when a tape is playing in my JVC HR-S9900, but when the VCR's default blue screen is displayed, the 1T-TBC shows a vertical scroll when watching in VirtualDub through an ATI AIW 7500.


Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_0195.jpg (157.2 KB, 55 downloads)

Last edited by mikewren; 03-11-2019 at 08:24 PM. Reason: 2d-challenged
Reply With Quote
  #51  
03-11-2019, 08:44 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is online now
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,913
Thanked 2,170 Times in 1,870 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikewren View Post
JVC HR-S9900, but when the VCR's default blue screen is displayed, the 1T-TBC shows a vertical scroll when watching in VirtualDub through an ATI AIW 7500.
That is a bad unit. It has frame sticking/ghosting/etc, flawed chips. It will do this during tape playback, not only during a VCR blue screen. There are good 1T units that are essentially AVT-8710 clones, but those are not easy to locate, as those are about 15 years old. The bad unit at only 5-10 old, and more in circulation, with the main reason being these are flawed junk.

At this moment, I do have some good 1T's in the marketplace. But that won't last long.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #52  
03-11-2019, 09:08 PM
mikewren mikewren is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 10
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Thanks - I did a bit more digging around the forums and found this thread:

What is a TBC? Time Base Correction for Videotapes

Which goes into further detail on the issues with more recent revisions of the 1T-TBC.

Printing the return label now!
Reply With Quote
  #53  
12-01-2020, 03:40 PM
Surly_Hotdog Surly_Hotdog is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Posts: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Is there a way to know by serial number if a 1T-TBC is one of the newer models with issues?
Reply With Quote
  #54  
12-02-2020, 07:10 AM
Tuco Tuco is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 79
Thanked 30 Times in 19 Posts
In my honest opinion, no. Its been a while since I've touched mine(early one) as I've had better success with other devices but I doubt things have changed in the years since I tried and opened several of them. If I am wrong, then someone here please correct me but as far as I know there is no "good serial number" list. I doubt they have changed anything with regards to the chipset.

I will let others chime in as I have been absent from this forum for quite a while but I've fiddled with enough of them to know it just isn't worth it unless you have a guarantee to try it and return it. You need one of the really early ones to get lucky and even those putter out every now and then..just the way it goes with tape. I got through digitizing my collection using various devices depending on the source. Unfortunately one size fits all doesn't really work in this business.

Again, this is just my own experience and opinion. My collection was done a few years ago so things may have changed but I'm still skeptical.

I wish you luck though. Feel free to ask any questions here.
Reply With Quote
  #55  
12-02-2020, 07:42 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is online now
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,913
Thanked 2,170 Times in 1,870 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Surly_Hotdog View Post
Is there a way to know by serial number if a 1T-TBC is one of the newer models with issues?
Not exactly.

There are "questionable" (gambling) serials, and "definitely bad" serials. There's no "good" list.

For example, right now on eBay, are bad units with the 223834xxxxxx range. Those are worthless flawed units. The "4 sold" means that 4 people have pissed away $500+ on a faulty TBC. The bad chips actually caused dropped frames, the exact reason why TBCs exist!

The real test involve ... well, tests! And looking at the board chips.

BTW, if you want one of these, I have an extra that I'll be listing in the marketplace soon. I'm currently rotating and downsizing some of my holdings. So some minty TBCs and capture cards will soon be available!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tuco View Post
You need one of the really early ones to get lucky and even those putter out every now and then..
That's exactly correct. Nothing has changed, nothing will ever change on these.

And welcome back, good to see you here again.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #56  
12-02-2020, 08:38 AM
Surly_Hotdog Surly_Hotdog is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Posts: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thank you both! I am going to avoid eBay if I can. I got lucky with a decent deck but everything else on eBay seems so sketchy....

I'll keep watch for your post Lord Smurf, I am in need of a TBC and capture card I can trust....
Reply With Quote
  #57  
12-02-2020, 12:44 PM
latreche34 latreche34 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,302
Thanked 396 Times in 365 Posts
What is that output board that has been removed in the mod, what does it do originally?
Reply With Quote
  #58  
12-03-2020, 01:35 AM
ehbowen ehbowen is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 341
Thanked 64 Times in 57 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by latreche34 View Post
What is that output board that has been removed in the mod, what does it do originally?
If I'm Not Mistaken, that's the distribution amp board and outputs. It takes the signal from the TBC and amplifies and splits it into four identical signals. Very useful if you wish to, say, use a single source VCR to dub four copies of a church service or similar on four target VCRs, but essentially useless if you're just using the TBC to a single capture device.
Reply With Quote
  #59  
12-03-2020, 01:49 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is online now
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,913
Thanked 2,170 Times in 1,870 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by latreche34 View Post
What is that output board that has been removed in the mod, what does it do originally?
Do you refer to the power board, or the VP299 distro amp?

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #60  
12-03-2020, 02:28 AM
latreche34 latreche34 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,302
Thanked 396 Times in 365 Posts
Well what each board does and why removing them is better?
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AVT-8710 TBC specs? via Email or PM Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 24 07-31-2020 06:31 AM
DataVideo TBC-1000 has grainy noise? via Email or PM Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 1 10-26-2009 04:47 AM
SignVideo Manuals PA-100 and DR-1000 [DOWNLOAD] admin Video Hardware Repair 0 03-18-2009 05:26 AM
DataVideo 100 or 1000? Which TBC version? manthing Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 4 07-13-2005 03:54 AM
Hardware Setup / TBC-1000 (Suggestions) CaZeek Encode, Convert for discs 3 11-27-2004 05:25 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:49 PM