08-23-2010, 03:04 AM
Site Staff | Video

Thanked 2,448 Times in 2,080 Posts
continued from PM...
To get advice from lordsmurf, always try the digitalFAQ.com forums first!
And feel free to ask for me. Thanks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by CobyUser
Hello, I would greatly appreciate your advice, as I am a newbie at the following:
I have many PAL tapes that I would like to transfer to DVD so that my grandchildren will be able to watch the shows. I cannot rely that I will always have a working PAL videotape player here in the US.

I am using a Samsung SV5000W (set for THROUGH Output since setting it for NTSC output gave only a blue or vertical wide striped screen) and a Philips DVDR 3390/37. The Philips has been modified to be region free, and is set for NTSC output , so basically the input to the Philips is PAL and the output on the Philips is set to NTSC- (In the past I have been able to use the Philips to record DVDs from the UK with output as NTSC) I am using composite cables to connect the 2 machines (yellow, red, white)
That's a good VCR -- I have one too, although it's a secondary unit to a much better JVC S-VHS HR-S7965EK model. It's still a consumer VHS VCR, however -- not really a pro model VHS VCR in terms of playback quality. Then again, none of the multi-format VCRs are. Good, yes. Decent picture, sure. The best? Not really.

Philips DVD recorders vary from terrible to okay. None of them are really great for digital versions of VHS tapes, as they have NO FILTERS for improving video or audio quality. The noise is not only encoded into the picture, but it often lends itself to even worse-than-tape DVDs. The DVDs end up having little mosquito noises around objects, you get visible MPEG blocks, etc.

The PAL>NTSC conversion isn't really the best, either, although it does function at some level. You may end up with ghosting.

Quote: