05-14-2021, 02:07 PM
Free Member

I recently bought a working Canopus ADVC-110 for a very good price ($55), and I am loving the results that this device gives. However, I don't know if this is really the best quality possible. All of my family's home videos were recorded on a Handycam (CCD-TRV308 model).

I captured the tapes using Premiere Pro and then deinterlaced the AVI files in QTGMC with a few other filters, such as Deblock QED and MCTemporalDenoise. I really don't know if this improved the quality since I am still new to capturing. Anyways, I am really just trying to find out if there is a better method for restoring DV captures. I have attached some stills from one of my captures down below.

Attached Images
File Type: png vlcsnap-2021-05-14-04h01m10s992.png (479.2 KB, 22 downloads)
File Type: png vlcsnap-2021-05-14-02h29m43s481.png (451.6 KB, 20 downloads)
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

05-15-2021, 05:52 AM
Free Member

Difficult to judge on 2 images, but I guess clamped blacks (trees in the bottom right of the first pictures) and whites ("ball building in the first picture, t-shirt in the second picture).
If you post your original captured video we can help you better.
05-15-2021, 12:29 PM
Free Member

I've uploaded some snippets from one of the tapes last night on my second YouTube channel. Here is the link.
05-15-2021, 12:57 PM
Free Member

No please, stop with youtube videos, it was a mess on the other post. Upload original DV capture of the second image

Last edited by lollo2; 05-15-2021 at 01:46 PM.
The following users thank lollo2 for this useful post: BarryTheCrab (05-15-2021)
05-15-2021, 01:59 PM
Free Member

On top of that, if we want to see if there is any potential improvement we have to start from the original file, not from a file already restored ;-)
05-15-2021, 06:33 PM
Free Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by lollo2 View Post