Quantcast Realtime Software Vectorscope - digitalFAQ Forum
  #1  
01-21-2012, 03:28 AM
JasonCA JasonCA is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 62
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
I've been searching everywhere for a realtime software vectorscope. It seems like ALL software vectoscopes that currently exist all worki in realtime AFTER you have captured.

Is there any software application that shows the vectorscope during a LIVE capture? I'd like to view the vectorscope while I'm capturing. Really surprised I can't find one.

Thanks!

Jason
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
01-21-2012, 09:20 PM
jmac698 jmac698 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 387
Thanked 73 Times in 56 Posts
Yes that's easy.

This guide shows you how to connect ffdshow processing during capture. Only some capture programs support this. Part of the power of ffdshow is it's connection to avisynth, to do realtime analysis and processing of captured videos. Virtually anything can be done in live capture.

1 http://www.kmplayer.com/forums/showt...4339#post94339
Is a basic setup to use a capture program to decode through ffdshow.
I've used other programs to do the same thing.
2 Install a vectoscope plugin http://avisynth.org.ru/docs/english/...ers/vscope.htm (to Program Files\Avisynth\plugins\vscope.dll)
3 Finally, in ffdshow video decoder settings, check avisynth, then there's a box you can write any command.
Enter this script:
Code:
colorbars
converttoyuy2
VideoScope("both", true, "U", "V", "UV")
bilinearresize(640,480)
Remove colorbars to see your capture signal.

If you have problems, break it down.
Start by playiing a file in windows media player and see if icons show for ffdshow decoder, then click the red FFV icon, then enable avisynth processing, then write a simple command like colorbars, apply, and note if there's a change in the player screen.
Also note that the player won't change resolution once it starts playing, so that's why you need to resize to the original size at the end of your script. I noticed this problem when I couldn't see the vscope output, because it adds to the output size and got clipped originally.

In fact I've used this general technique to create my auto levels calibration tool.
It's a script that expects analog captured level signal input, and computes the errors, and then adjusts for the best balanced picture. You could also live adjust the procamp capture settings for best accuracy.

References
1 ffdshow http://www.videohelp.com/tools/ffdshow
2 videoscope plugin http://avisynth.org.ru/docs/english/...ers/vscope.htm
3 Setting up kmplayer to capture with ffdshow processing http://www.kmplayer.com/forums/showt...4339#post94339
4 Avisynth documentation http://avisynth.org/mediawiki/Internal_filters
5 Avisynth download http://avisynth.org/mediawiki/Main_Page#Official_builds
6 My levels measurement script http://code.google.com/p/avisynthres...n/wiki/Measure
Reply With Quote
The following users thank jmac698 for this useful post: kpmedia (01-25-2012), lordsmurf (01-24-2012)
  #3  
01-21-2012, 11:10 PM
JasonCA JasonCA is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 62
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Thanks a lot jmac698,

I installed everything as you laid out. Great layout as it was very clear. All the links made everything quick to grab and setup! I have both KMPlayer and VirtualDub installed.

I just purchased the ATI 600 USB. And through KMPlayer and VirtualDub, I can view the live stream from my S-Video source.

However, what I'd like to do is pass the LIVE S-Video stream (YUY2 Color space) to FFDShow and then through a viewable Vector scope.

No matter what I do, I can't seem to do this. I have VirtualDub 1.9.11 installed as well as Color Tools 1.4. However, though I can see the Waveform...as soon as I start to capture with the Color Tools filter enabled in VirtualDub, I get a crash.

Currently, I have FFDshow set according to what you said. I checked the Avisynth check box and entered the commands. However, I can't seem to feed the video to ffdshow either through VirtualDub or KMPlayer. However, like I said, both VirtualDub and KMPlayer will let me view the live stream of the ATI 600 USB and even capture it. But, again, I want to pass the signals through to a live Vector Scope or even waveform.

Any ideas on how to do this or make that happen would be greatly appreciated!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
01-22-2012, 03:59 AM
JasonCA JasonCA is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 62
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Never mind jmac698, I am good! It took me a few hours to get it to work.

Wow, this is perfect. This is exactly what I was looking for! Very useful!

Thanks sooooooooo very much!

Reply With Quote
  #5  
01-22-2012, 04:57 AM
jmac698 jmac698 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 387
Thanked 73 Times in 56 Posts
Hit that thanks button You're welcome, however could you explain what steps were necessary or different to get it to work? I'm sure it would be useful for others in the future - thanks!
Reply With Quote
The following users thank jmac698 for this useful post: JasonCA (01-22-2012), kpmedia (01-25-2012), lordsmurf (01-24-2012)
  #6  
01-22-2012, 01:53 PM
JasonCA JasonCA is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 62
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmac698 View Post
Hit that thanks button You're welcome, however could you explain what steps were necessary or different to get it to work? I'm sure it would be useful for others in the future - thanks!
I hit the thanks button! Your the first person I ever thanked!

I just had to make sure that the video data stream does indeed pass through ffdshow. With Avisynth check box enabled, and the commands entered, and the video finally going through it, you'll see the waveform and vectorscope.

For me, I prefer the following settings though for viewing my own video:

Code:
converttoyuy2
VideoScope("both", true, "y", "y", "uv")

I like
Code:
VideoScope("both", true, "y", "y", "uv")
instead of
Code:
VideoScope("both", true, "U", "V", "UV")
since I want to just see the intensities. I think with U,V you get subtractions from black or something like that. I am still learning this VideoScope settings. I'll continue to play with it.

However the command
Code:
colorbars
is good to have when you want to see the colorbar reference chart. It does as jmac698 says: it overlaps the video.

I also removed
Code:
bilinearresize(640,480)
as that seems to resize the video output...which is great to have if you need it. For me, I rather maintain the actual output size and put up a waveform and vectorscope around it.

jmac698 , perhaps you can confirm but I believe there is also other vectorscopes and waveforms that can be enabled through Avisynth. Perhaps these are other plugins? I believe I read somewhere that Trevlac (think it was ColorTools) and someone else also had their own vectorscope and waveform. Would you happen to know?

If so, what are the other commands for avisynth to show those?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
01-22-2012, 03:32 PM
jmac698 jmac698 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 387
Thanked 73 Times in 56 Posts
Yes, there's one built-in already - but you did say vectorscope, so I wanted to be sure you were getting a traditional color vectorscope display.
See http://avisynth.org/mediawiki/Histogram

why I used the resize, is because when I enabled the vscope, it adds to the size of the video by creating new area around the border of the original video. In mediaplayer at least, once I started a file playing, the screen area was set to the original video size (640x480 in my case), and once I expanded it dynamically, I just couldn't see the extra area. In your case, perhaps it read the new size when you started it, in which case a resize is certainly not necessary.

I found the colorbars useful to verify that the vscope display worked correctly, and what proper colorbars would look like. I would use this as the reference, when capturing real analog colorbars.

There is a way to use the virtualdub videoscope, please see http://avisynth.org/mediawiki/FAQ_us...ualdub_plugins
I knew this, but was too lazy to work it out for you
Reply With Quote
The following users thank jmac698 for this useful post: kpmedia (01-25-2012)
  #8  
01-24-2012, 07:01 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,091
Thanked 1,970 Times in 1,699 Posts
Thanks for answering this one, jmac698. This is something where I didn't have an answer.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
01-24-2012, 11:07 PM
jmac698 jmac698 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 387
Thanked 73 Times in 56 Posts
NP, would you like me to write a guide? Is there a place for me yet?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
01-25-2012, 02:06 AM
JasonCA JasonCA is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 62
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordsmurf View Post
Thanks for answering this one, jmac698. This is something where I didn't have an answer.
And how did lordsmurf not have an answer for this one? You are lordsmurf.

Again, thanks jmac698. I have yet to still try the last few things you suggested. But, again your suggestions have been greatly appreciated.

I'll keep you posted and provide further feedback after I try your last suggestions!
Reply With Quote
The following users thank JasonCA for this useful post: lordsmurf (01-25-2012)
  #11  
01-25-2012, 11:04 AM
jmac698 jmac698 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 387
Thanked 73 Times in 56 Posts
He has a vast knowledge from experience which I could never catch up to, however my skills are in a much different area, I think we complement each other nicely

The whole is much greater than the sum of it's parts...
The important thing that we both believe in, is to share our knowledge. Too much knowledge of the world is locked up in experts' brains.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank jmac698 for this useful post: lordsmurf (01-25-2012)
  #12  
02-01-2012, 04:34 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,091
Thanked 1,970 Times in 1,699 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmac698 View Post
NP, would you like me to write a guide? Is there a place for me yet?
Yes. I'll be getting with you on this starting in March.

This will be awesome.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Media player with realtime, self adjusting volume limiter? admin Videography: Cameras, TVs and Players 1 09-06-2010 10:03 AM
Slowing down fast video to realtime? help quick emokid Edit Video, Audio 2 08-24-2006 11:59 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:39 PM