Quantcast Avtoolbox 8710 myths and answers - digitalFAQ Forum
  #1  
03-02-2012, 02:14 AM
rocko's Avatar
rocko rocko is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 458
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
This morning I talked to tech support,(1-888-520-7479) about VCR MENU screen.I was told the 8710 was designed for "Older" VCR's ,and the menu display looks great on these units,But on the "Later Model" VCR's,the AVTOOLBOX has a hard time with the menu displays!...(Mine is a MITSTUBISHI HD2000U)...He said that after a few calls (and my call 1 year ago) they had no VCR's to test,so he brought in a "Later Model" Sony VCR and the Menu Display was "just crazy" as mine is too!!! So my advice is... Just Roll The Tape!!! and see what the results are!!!! DON'T GET HUNG UP ON THE VCR MENU!!!!

Last edited by rocko; 03-02-2012 at 02:32 AM. Reason: forgot something
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
03-04-2012, 04:15 AM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is offline
Site Staff | Web Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4,361
Thanked 606 Times in 445 Posts
There's no such thing as "older" or "newer" VCRs, regarding the way the TBC reacts. That's just hogwash on their part.
The AVT-8710 was fine all the way until 2010. The newest S-VHS VCRs are from 2005 and before. What they say is therefore illogical nonsense.

Every AVT-8710 that flakes on the menu has flaked on video footage, too.

Sometimes the VCR menu will pulse, because menu video signals are not always 100% standard to the NTSC or PAL specs, but it won't go ape wild like defective AVT-8710 units do. You can see this easily by comparing multiple TBCs, including known-good AVT-8710 models, against it.

- Did this site help you? Then upgrade to Premium Member and show your support!
- Also: Like Us on Facebook for special DVD/Blu-ray news and deals!
Reply With Quote
The following users thank admin for this useful post: rocko (03-05-2012)
  #3  
03-05-2012, 12:59 AM
rocko's Avatar
rocko rocko is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 458
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
I purchased mine on 3/1/2010 (from B&H) and the menu screen letters look clear for a nano-second at power up,then the letters get horizontal like lines thru them,but the screen is blue. Sometimes when I stop the tape, the screen is 1/2 blue on top and 1/2 "White noise"on bottom, and there is a tiny "honeycomb" pattern on the whole blue screen almost always.But when I play the tape, the picture looks pretty good...Is there any known serial number series or, rough dates that the defective units were sold????
Reply With Quote
  #4  
03-05-2012, 01:36 AM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is offline
Site Staff | Web Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4,361
Thanked 606 Times in 445 Posts
Let's do it the other way around:
You tell us your serial/dates/etc -- whatever is on the label -- and let's see if we can collectively make some observations.
The primary observation made thus far, in the other AVT-8710 thread, points out a difference in the chipsets on the TBC board.

That's a multi-page topic here: http://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/vide...710-doa-6.html

- Did this site help you? Then upgrade to Premium Member and show your support!
- Also: Like Us on Facebook for special DVD/Blu-ray news and deals!
Reply With Quote
The following users thank admin for this useful post: rocko (03-05-2012)
  #5  
03-05-2012, 10:55 PM
rocko's Avatar
rocko rocko is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 458
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
The Label says AVT 8710,then 2 rows of numbers /bar codes
  1. 5 029882 084064
  2. 2 238406 009725
And "S/N" is on the label close to the bottom row of numbers/bar code and there is a round white sticker with "Q.C.-OK" also, I purchased it on 3/1/2010 from B&H
Reply With Quote
  #6  
03-19-2012, 09:10 PM
rocko's Avatar
rocko rocko is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 458
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
I also uploaded pics from TV screen of my AVT 8710 after pressing Stop, and/or Menu,on VCR,Posted 3-17-12 under Capture Record Transfer,which is where I probably should have started this post??Sorry...BTW hope your "Spring Cleaning" is Going Well!! ...Vacation this week means finally getting to my mess 'o' wires and spring cleaning of my own!!Hope to get reply soon about post above from 3-5-2012
Reply With Quote
  #7  
03-22-2012, 12:03 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 9,828
Thanked 1,675 Times in 1,455 Posts
That new post is here: http://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/vide...defective.html

We'll continue that topic there.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The National Archives are publishing CD/DVD myths! Yikes! kpmedia Tech Myths, Misinformation 0 08-24-2010 11:28 PM
Debunking Media Myths, Misinformation & Propaganda - Forum Rules admin Tech Myths, Misinformation 0 04-13-2010 04:35 PM
Video Services that Spread Myths to Customers (Hall of Shame) kpmedia Tech Myths, Misinformation 1 04-13-2010 04:15 PM
DV myths vs. Canopus (hype?) GRSmith Capture, Record, Transfer 8 06-04-2004 07:35 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:20 AM