digitalFAQ.com Forum

digitalFAQ.com Forum (https://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/)
-   Restore, Filter, Improve Quality (https://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/video-restore/)
-   -   Missing filters in VirtualDub and stability issues (https://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/video-restore/5596-missing-filters-virtualdub.html)

wsmith 12-17-2013 10:03 PM

Missing filters in VirtualDub and stability issues

Hail, VHS improvement Pros!

I'm new here; this is my first post.

I'm a corporate producer of some 15 years but new to the mysterious world of VHS improvement. I increasingly need to get crapped out VHS into shape for inclusion into HD timelines in Premiere (CS6 currently).

Question 1:

I just downloaded, un-RAR'd and installed Virtual Dub but can't see the filters. Am I supposed to do something further to incorporate them? I've done a cursory scan of the help docs.

Question 2, with description of my stability problem: Really wondering whether you concur with what I've been told over the phone by a few people.

I've been wrestling with just getting the material into my workstation in the form of a stable signal. By the way, I have spent a fair amount of time educating myself with this excellent site and have also read LS's responses on some other sites too before posting this.

I now have a JVC-refurbed 4000u deck that's utterly pristine. I had JVC run the serial no. and learned that some dodo returned it when it only had dirty heads. Probably played a couple of really crapped out tapes and didn't know enough to clean the heads... That's all JVC needed to do.

Anyway, here is my puzzlement: A tape has flagging at top. Play the same tape in a Panasonic SuperVHS PV-S7680 and it holds that stable. I can see a slight warp at the upper left corner but it's held stable. The output is of course noisier than the 4000u. For now, I'll take stable over clean.