11-30-2014, 09:37 AM
Free Member

I'm completely new to the world of restoring VHS tapes and a total rookie at the subject, but I made a purchase for a cheaper capture device (Plexgear Moviesaver) and have been capturing my old family tapes in hopes of being able to get it all ready for Christmas.

All has gone fairly smoothly, but some of the tapes are encountering a problem that they do not have when played through the VHS on the TV.
In those tapes, frames occasionally jumps and glitches as you can see in my attached video

I'm using Virtualdub to capture and process my videos.
I haven't been able to find a filter to correct this and though I've searched for days I've gotten no clues of the reason or if it's fixable.

Any help is greatly appreciated!

Edit: reduced file size of attachment

Attached Files
File Type: avi test2_1.avi (12.93 MB, 68 downloads)
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

11-30-2014, 10:34 AM
Free Member

You need TBC.
11-30-2014, 10:38 AM
Premium Member

Thanked 1,308 Times in 982 Posts
Welcome to digitalfaq.

Well, Christmas is gettin' pretty close. There's no filter for the problem. It has to be corrected during capture with a player's built-in line tbc or an external pass-thru tbc. There are line sync and frame sync errors, so you might need an external frame-level tbc as well. It can't be fixed after capture. The reason your TV plays it more or less correctly is because your TV isn't a digital encoder. Encoders don't see sync errors and noise the same way your TV sees them.

The sample is good enough for showing us the problem, but why is it recompressed to lossy DV-AVI? Thought you said you were capping with VirtualDub. CS6 ought to be able to work with lossless media, but by going thru multiple stages of lossy recompression you're also showing us compression artifacts as well as the biggie problem.You know that DV isn't playable with TV or external boxes, so you'll have another lossy re-encode for a final product. But that's another story.