Quantcast Leitch DPS575 vs. BrighteyeBE75 TBC test pattern - Page 3 - digitalFAQ Forum
Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Restore, Filter, Improve Quality

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #41  
12-20-2018, 12:42 AM
WaxCyl WaxCyl is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 52
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Wow, good find! That's a pretty good price as well........
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #42  
12-30-2018, 08:37 PM
latreche34 latreche34 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 427
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
I picked it up today for an offer of $100 and he actually offered me two for $200 I said no I just need one, Both brand new in open boxes.

-- merged --

It's going to take me a while to get a hold of a BrightEye 75, There is one listed on ebay for like $850, I'm not willing to pay more than $200 for it, Just not worth it.
Reply With Quote
  #43  
02-16-2019, 11:40 AM
latreche34 latreche34 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 427
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
Well it was shorter than I expected to get a hold of a Brighteye 75, It popped up on ebay and the seller and I settled on $175 shipped, I will do my own testing when it gets here.
Reply With Quote
  #44  
02-16-2019, 04:30 PM
WaxCyl WaxCyl is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 52
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Wow, great news and what a great price. Hope it goes well!
Reply With Quote
  #45  
02-19-2019, 10:29 PM
latreche34 latreche34 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 427
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
I got the BE75 today, Here is how it looks like when coupled with BM UltraStudio SDI, I just need to make a breakout for the audio and connect the BM to a computer using the USB jack.





I will be using the BlackMagic's Media Express capture software in 525i/59.94 NTSC and AVI 10Bit 4:2:2 YUV.



Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_3206.jpg (33.2 KB, 65 downloads)
File Type: jpg IMG_3207.jpg (89.1 KB, 151 downloads)
Reply With Quote
  #46  
02-19-2019, 11:43 PM
WaxCyl WaxCyl is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 52
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
This is what I did, it may be of interest to others as well. The audio cable is a normal stereo RCA one but with 2 plugs cut off on one end, stripped and tinned. It is anchored within green plug with heatshrink with plenty of hot-melt.


Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20190220_162755[1].jpg (36.8 KB, 9 downloads)
File Type: jpg 20190220_162821[1].jpg (37.9 KB, 6 downloads)
Reply With Quote
  #47  
02-19-2019, 11:45 PM
latreche34 latreche34 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 427
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
Here is how the Media Express look like, The link to the picture above is lost.



Attached Images
File Type: jpg Untitled 3.jpg (47.0 KB, 65 downloads)
Reply With Quote
  #48  
02-19-2019, 11:47 PM
latreche34 latreche34 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 427
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by WaxCyl View Post
This is what I did, it may be of interest to others as well. The audio cable is a normal stereo RCA one but with 2 plugs cut off on one end, stripped and tinned. It is anchored within green plug with heatshrink with plenty of hot-melt.
Good idea I think I will do the same thing.
Reply With Quote
  #49  
04-14-2019, 05:05 PM
blowups blowups is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Great info here! Do you think Brighteye3 is on par with Brighteye75? From the manual 12 vs 14 bit ADC... and BE3 doesn't have audio in. Do you think sync issues might appear if sound goes straight into a Blackmagic card? Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #50  
04-14-2019, 06:06 PM
WaxCyl WaxCyl is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 52
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
I don't specifically know if you will have an audio to video sync offset. My guess, though is that you would.
The question is - will it be noticeable? In all likelihood whatever offset you do have it would hopefully be a constant - and therefore easily correctable. Maybe someone else on the forum who has experience with capturing A and V separately could comment..
Reply With Quote
  #51  
04-14-2019, 07:29 PM
latreche34 latreche34 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 427
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
I would probably guess that you will have a frame worth or a field worth of audio delay if the frame sync/TBC is turned on (depends on the memory size), Will it be noticeable? That I don't know.
I'm pretty sure some folks did capture with audio straight to computer while a full frame TBC is in the workflow, those the ones who will give you a definite answer if there is a delay in audio or not.
Reply With Quote
  #52  
04-14-2019, 10:00 PM
WaxCyl WaxCyl is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 52
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by latreche34 View Post
I would probably guess that you will have a frame worth or a field worth of audio delay if the frame sync/TBC is turned on (depends on the memory size), Will it be noticeable? That I don't know.
I'm pretty sure some folks did capture with audio straight to computer while a full frame TBC is in the workflow, those the ones who will give you a definite answer if there is a delay in audio or not.
Thanks latreche34, you made me think more about this. If the video source is analogue tape (VHS etc)
then the video signal is getting TBC'ed but the audio is not! As you suggested the there is probably a fixed delay just by turning on the TBC plus an additional variable delay dependent on the tape wow. This could mean that total delay is variable and the audio could be difficult to sync.
I checked Google; if the max possible delay in the TBC is 2 video frames, this is 40ms. I believe that a greater than 100ms delay would not be acceptable. Can anyone confirm my figures?
Reply With Quote
  #53  
05-08-2019, 11:03 PM
latreche34 latreche34 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 427
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
For the curious of you who wonder how the BE75 looks like inside here is a couple of shots of the PCB, With a footprint of only 5"1/2 x 5"1/2 they managed to put all the components in there.
I got a couple of those locally which I will be selling pretty soon after cleaning and testing them.





Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_3455.jpg (170.2 KB, 35 downloads)
File Type: jpg IMG_3456.jpg (103.4 KB, 34 downloads)
Reply With Quote
  #54  
05-08-2019, 11:20 PM
WaxCyl WaxCyl is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 52
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
I am extremely happy with my BE-75. Even more so now that I am able to do all post processing in 16 bit 4:4:4 ( AVIsynth+ is fully capable of this now).
Reply With Quote
  #55  
05-09-2019, 10:59 AM
hodgey hodgey is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Norway
Posts: 498
Thanked 120 Times in 102 Posts
Have you tested it on some dodgy VHS tapes to see how it responds?

So it has a Analog Devices A/D chip, like most other "high-end" analog video gear these days. This one has the "ADLLT" line-TBC type functionality, in addition to the frame sync/TBC/buffer function the device itself has.
Reply With Quote
  #56  
05-09-2019, 05:47 PM
WaxCyl WaxCyl is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 52
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
My Hi-8 unit already has a LTBC so the combination results are perfect. I am sorry, I never really compared the BE75 time base correction performance. From memory someone in another thread opinioned that time base correction was not as good as the TBC-1000. This sounds feasible since the BE75 is intended for broadcast grade inputs.
Reply With Quote
  #57  
05-09-2019, 07:02 PM
latreche34 latreche34 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 427
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by hodgey View Post
Have you tested it on some dodgy VHS tapes to see how it responds?

So it has a Analog Devices A/D chip, like most other "high-end" analog video gear these days. This one has the "ADLLT" line-TBC type functionality, in addition to the frame sync/TBC/buffer function the device itself has.
Yes I've tried it with really messy tapes and it displays and digitizes exactly what the video heads are putting out, You don't get blu screen or frame drop, Even if the tape is chewed up it will display and digitizes the horizontal stripes as they appear, That's how stable is, Good luck doing that with a USB capture device. I don't know about Vdub, I use Media Express for my SDI/USB companion dongle and there is a setting to stop capture after a certain set time if the signal is bad because it will build up some audio drift, Also the feature is useful when the tape is finished playing.

Keep in mind that it's all about the VCR though, If you have a stable VCR most of the problems are already taken care of.

I don't think it has a line TBC, This is a VCR feature. It has full frame TBC and frame sync features in addition to genlock from an external pulse generator.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Broadcast Grade TBC - Leitch DPS-475/575 review LukeS Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 34 02-21-2019 08:51 AM
FS: Two Pro TBCs - Novamate Novatrol and Leitch DPS-235 vandepas Marketplace 0 09-06-2014 06:02 PM
Putting the DPS/Leitch DPS-235 TBC to the test NJRoadfan Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 9 09-19-2012 10:44 AM
Toshiba SD23VB has a TBC? Pattern effect using s-video? via Email or PM Project Planning, Workflows 1 03-08-2012 10:17 PM
AV TOOLBOX 8710 Shows B&W Test Pattern rocko Project Planning, Workflows 5 09-17-2011 09:15 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:07 PM