Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Restore, Filter, Improve Quality

LinkBack Thread Tools
07-03-2018, 06:23 AM
Free Member

I am new to video restoration. I have captured all my VHS family videos into DV-AVI (using Canopus) (I know it is not recommended, but I am in PAL world and have a very good VCR) and Huffyuv. Used DV-AVI for some VHS tapes (before I had access to the ATI 600 USB). Then used Huffyuv for the remaining cassettes once I had the ATI 600 USB stick and recently the Diamond VC500 stick which my friend brought for me from the USA. Using Windows 10 Home edition.

So, all my VHS tapes are captured and safe. Family is happy with the quality of the DVD encodes. These are the wedding videos of my relatives and friends.

Before I get into serious restoration with the source files, I wanted to learn some basics and have been going through DFAQ forum posts, guides, VH posts.

I see FFMPEG, VirtualDub, AviSynth mentioned in almost all places, but I am not able to see which tool is for which purpose, and which tool is best for a specific task.

For example, I know AviSynth is script-based and does a lot of video processing functions. But is it superior to VirtualDub filters for vidoe processing in all respects? FFMPEG also seems to have some filters such as resize??? Do VirtualDub and AviSynth do everything that FFMPEG can do and in a better way?

I am simply unable to connect these things together. I need general guidelines so that I can head in the right direction (in learning).

Any reply will help me understand better.

-- merged --

Is this question too generic to answer?
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

07-05-2018, 01:02 AM
Site Staff | Video

Thanked 2,449 Times in 2,081 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by naripeddi View Post