Quantcast Is it possible to use AviSynth difference overlay to see live changes? - digitalFAQ Forum
Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Restore, Filter, Improve Quality

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
02-23-2019, 11:49 AM
ELinder ELinder is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 196
Thanked 30 Times in 24 Posts
I'm not sure how to ask this, and have even less idea of how to go about it. I'm still trying to go thru the QTGMC parameters and see what they do and how to best use them. However I have to say most of the time I can't see a big difference when I'm changing things in AvsPmod.

I use a difference layer blending mode in Photoshop and Resolve to see how things compare, align things, etc, so I started to look into AviSynth's overlay function. I only see a way to use existing clips. Is it possible to use Overlay in difference mode to overlay 2 clips created in the same AviSynth script? For example, can I open a video file, apply 2 different instances of QTGMC in parallel on the open clip, and overlay those together to see only where they are different? It would be a sort of interactive way of highlighting what different parameters and setting actually change.

Erich
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
02-23-2019, 02:51 PM
Feedbucket Feedbucket is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: NYC
Posts: 25
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
I was just recently looking at something similar myself. This might be helpful: http://avisynth.nl/index.php/Subtract

Code:
A = QTGMC(Preset="Slow")
B = QTGMC(preset="Fast")
Subtract(A, B).Levels(65, 1, 255-64, 0, 255, coring=false)
You can also view clips side by side with StackHorizontal()
Code:
A = QTGMC(Preset="Slow")
B = QTGMC(preset="Fast")
StackHorizontal(A, B)
I think the things you'll want to pay attention to are noise reduction and edge detection.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank Feedbucket for this useful post: ELinder (02-23-2019)
  #3  
02-23-2019, 03:33 PM
ELinder ELinder is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 196
Thanked 30 Times in 24 Posts
Aha! Defining the different versions as A and B and then using the result is exactly what I was wondering if possible. I'll have to give this a try tomorrow.
Thanks!

Erich
Reply With Quote
  #4  
02-28-2019, 04:19 AM
themaster1 themaster1 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 224
Thanked 43 Times in 37 Posts
The simplest way use avspmod, load a script in 2 or more tabs then hit preview and switch tabs. That's how i do
Reply With Quote
  #5  
02-28-2019, 02:59 PM
ELinder ELinder is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 196
Thanked 30 Times in 24 Posts
I've tried Overlay mode, Subtract mode, tabs, and I find Feedbucket's suggestion of stacking the versions next to each other easiest to see the differences.

Erich
Reply With Quote
Reply




Tags
avisynth, overlay

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Virtualdub desyncs when overlay video is activated unentschieden Capture, Record, Transfer 4 12-17-2018 11:17 AM
Capture card for live HD recording? monks19 Capture, Record, Transfer 1 02-06-2018 11:21 PM
VirtualDub lossless capture jerky/jumpy with video overlay on? nicholasserra Capture, Record, Transfer 3 10-06-2017 01:30 AM
Diamond ATI 750HD PCIE - Problems capturing, black overlay after first capture danexpo Capture, Record, Transfer 6 11-30-2014 11:37 PM
Live Concert VHS Transfer Recommendation carlthulhu Capture, Record, Transfer 3 10-31-2011 09:25 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:13 AM