06-01-2019, 07:14 PM
Free Member

Hi,

I recently received some DV encoded video files from a friend (sample attached). Regretfully, I do not have the original tape.

I was hoping to use Avisynth to do the initial passes at improving the quality (with plans to use Premier Pro for NLE and color correction later). I am a total Avisynth noob though...

That being said, I am having doubts that I am even getting the file set up properly to begin with!

Four questions it would be great to get some advice on:

1. I can't seem to open the file with "AviSource(file)" or "FFmpegSource(file)". I have to use "DirectShowSource(file)". Is that a problem? If it is, I'd like to fix it before I get any further!

2. When I do "DirectShowSource(file).info" I get back the following:
### Colorspace = YUY2
### Width 720 Height 480
### FPS 29.9700 (10000000/333667)
### FieldBased (Separated) Video: NO
### Parity: Bottom Field First
### Video Pitch: 1440 bytes

Does that make sense? And if so, does it imply that I need to use "assumeBFF()" in my code? I ask because it seems that "assumeTFF()" is more commonly used of what I've seen posted here.

3. From what I have read, it seems "ConvertToYV12(interlaced=true)" is the first step in any script? I assume that applies here as well?

4. Lastly, any recommendations on favorite filters to address the issues you observe? It is a low lit wedding, so lots of contrast (black tux vs white dress) with not lots to work with on the extremes it seems. My primary concern would be cleaning up the noise and speckles (e.g., particularly on the dress).

Many thanks in advance!

Attached Files
File Type: avi sample1_outputOld.avi (15.54 MB, 35 downloads)
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

06-02-2019, 02:12 AM
Free Member

I can't help with Avisynth but I loaded one frame into Lightroom just to see if any of the color could be salvaged, and it looks promising:

vlcsnap-2019-06-01-23h20m18s419.JPG

-- merged --