Quantcast Convert digital content and DAR - digitalFAQ Forum
  #1  
06-19-2022, 04:03 PM
jriker1 jriker1 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 68
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I created some AVI files ages back following directions in this forum. Finally got around to dealing with them. I want to deinterlace them, do color correction, and use Topaz Video Enhance AI to upscale and cleanup. Then re-encode at a smaller bitrate with HEVC. I'm having some issues with the DAR,SAR,PAR and not sure how to deal with this. Soooo doing most of the below either with Lagarith codec or ProRes to limit loss...

Below is the original mediainfo for the original AVI made with the VHS tape:

Original:
Width : 720 pixels
Height : 480 pixels
Pixel aspect ratio : 0.889
Display aspect ratio : 1.333
Display aspect ratio : 4:3

If I use AVISynth and deinterlace in VDub with AVISynth and QTGMC the resulting file is:

Width : 720 pixels
Height : 480 pixels
Pixel aspect ratio : 1.000
Display aspect ratio : 1.500
Display aspect ratio : 3:2

OK so this just made it square pixels, and the display aspect ratio isn't the same either now. Is this a problem or not yet?

Color corrected in Premiere Pro and exported at DV 0.91 (includes extra data in for this output metadata):

Width : 720 pixels
Clean aperture width : 704 pixels
Height : 480 pixels
Clean aperture height : 480 pixels
Sampled_Width : 720
Sampled_Height : 480
Pixel aspect ratio : 0.909
Clean aperture pixel aspect ratio: 0.909
Display aspect ratio : 1.364
Display aspect ratio : 4:3
Clean aperture display aspect ratio: 1.333
Clean aperture display aspect ratio: 4:3

So kind of back to the original settings if this isn't killing the footage? Ran thru Topaz Video Enhance AI and doubled the size. Always wants to change to square pixels:
Width : 1440 pixels
Height : 960 pixels
Sampled_Width : 1440
Sampled_Height : 960
Pixel aspect ratio : 1.000
Display aspect ratio : 1.500
Display aspect ratio : 3:2

So square pixels again. Topaz does a great job in general. Now what? Do I open this video in Premiere Pro again as it's a big file right now as a ProRes file and encode in HEVC format and set the aspect to DV 0.9091? Is there a way and should I be trying to keep the video aspect ratio thru the stages?
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
06-19-2022, 04:09 PM
latreche34 latreche34 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,196
Thanked 377 Times in 346 Posts
The final resolution should be 1440x1080 square pixel.

https://www.youtube.com/user/latoak34/videos
Reply With Quote
  #3  
06-19-2022, 04:16 PM
jriker1 jriker1 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 68
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks. So how about all the back and forth? Not that I'm doing to much processing just the fact that the aspect keeps changing each time? So at the second step labeled, "If I use AVISynth and deinterlace in VDub with AVISynth and QTGMC the resulting file is".

It ends up being 720x480 with a PAR of 1.0. Should I leave this back and forth as is or have this set to square pixels at that point with whatever size is appropriate and work thru it 1:1 thru the rest of the process?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
06-19-2022, 04:41 PM
latreche34 latreche34 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,196
Thanked 377 Times in 346 Posts
As long as the resolution doesn't change you don't have to worry about aspect ratio during those transitions, Every software displays aspect ratio based on what it meant for their software creator, What matter is the final result. If you keep the 704x480 you have to give it the final pixel aspect ratio or SAR (sample aspect ratio) during encoding, If you resize it to a square pixel resolution such as 1440x1080 then you don't have to assign a SAR flag.

https://www.youtube.com/user/latoak34/videos
Reply With Quote
  #5  
06-20-2022, 06:25 PM
jriker1 jriker1 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 68
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks for the input. The original video is:

Width : 720 pixels
Height : 480 pixels
Pixel aspect ratio : 0.889
Display aspect ratio : 1.333
Display aspect ratio : 4:3

So this would be an anamorphic video I assume with a 4:3 aspect ratio. I know I am doubling the size with Topaz but isn't 1440x1080 a 16:9 format? Also is that a square pixel frame size?

Last edited by jriker1; 06-20-2022 at 07:21 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
06-20-2022, 07:31 PM
jriker1 jriker1 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 68
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Tried editing my message but couldn't. Alteration to my question:

Thanks for the input. The original video is:

Width : 720 pixels
Height : 480 pixels
Pixel aspect ratio : 0.889
Display aspect ratio : 1.333
Display aspect ratio : 4:3

So this would be an anamorphic video I assume with a 4:3 aspect ratio. I know I am doubling the size with Topaz but is 720x540 a valid conversion for square pixels? I see 640x480 out there. Trying to understand where the extra 60 vertical pixels come from. Then assume you go to as you mentioned 1440x1080 but was curious on my prior mentioned question.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
06-20-2022, 10:40 PM
latreche34 latreche34 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,196
Thanked 377 Times in 346 Posts
Any resolution close to the source will create nasty artifacts such as moire, Keep the original resolution and set an SAR flag or go higher for square pixel.

https://www.youtube.com/user/latoak34/videos
Reply With Quote
  #8  
06-21-2022, 06:03 PM
jriker1 jriker1 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 68
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by latreche34 View Post
Any resolution close to the source will create nasty artifacts such as moire, Keep the original resolution and set an SAR flag or go higher for square pixel.
How do you set the SAR flag when converting in VDub with AVISynth?
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Convert VHS tapes to digital? lidorariel2310 Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 3 02-21-2021 04:47 PM
Sony Pro MP Hi8, how/where to convert digital? Lawrencelegend General Discussion 3 03-08-2019 12:52 AM
Convert VHS/Hi8 to digital without TBC? ExUSAF_AV Project Planning, Workflows 15 02-26-2018 10:13 PM
Dupe content a.k.a. Google doesn't care if you own the content admin Web Design + Site Planning 1 07-25-2013 07:04 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:05 PM