Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Encode, Convert for streaming

LinkBack Thread Tools
11-12-2017, 12:39 PM
Free Member

Hi all,
i'm new on this forum and i'm new also about video and streaming.

I'm studying about video formats and procedures to encode a video to H.264 (MP4) for HLS Adaptive Bitrate providing also multi language audio contents.

I Use CDN storage with HLS NGNIX server technology to stream video content from m3u8 manifest and a player HTML5 like most popular jwplayer..videojs... ecc. to publish content on web pages.

The file i do (or i need to do in a simpler manner) is MPEG-4 (H.264 25fps / AAC 48Khz 320kbps) with multiple audio tracks... also prepared in different resolutions and weights for ABR.

So I have some problems when i have to prepare files with multi-language audio content due to too many steps i have to do and i think in those many steps of corrupt something in the video.

Indeed in the stream something goes wrong, the video drop during playback in many players, changing language and rez in the player cause video crash.

The CDN stream support told me, based on NGINX logs... , something that i don't really understand:

"From what the admin found it appears that the video files have different GOP size/Iframes/Bframes which is what causes the player to have trouble with the playback. According to him the ideal GOP length to set would be 2x the frame rate and for the key Frame to have it set a 1x the frame rate. Also he said to not use bf frames if your using them"

These are the steps i do.

I Start from Adobe Premiere to make video 1080p with multi audio tracks and here i have the first problem that file result with 2 Stereo audio tracks with the same name, English / English ( I need to have English / Italian / Swedish ecc..).