Quantcast Encoding miniDV tapes - XViD or progressive H264? - Page 3 - digitalFAQ Forum
Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Encode, Convert for streaming

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #41  
12-03-2015, 03:22 AM
Goldwingfahrer's Avatar
Goldwingfahrer Goldwingfahrer is offline
Remembered
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 453
Thanked 80 Times in 71 Posts
Small supplement
sanlyn Post 37 ... Script
see Screen


Attached Images
File Type: png REC601.png (64.6 KB, 16 downloads)
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #42  
12-03-2015, 03:35 AM
sanlyn sanlyn is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: N. Carolina and NY, USA
Posts: 3,648
Thanked 1,265 Times in 972 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Goldwingfahrer View Post
Small supplement
sanlyn Post 37 ... Script
see Screen
Yes, thank you for the correction. Too bad we can't return to a post and make corrections after an hour, but that's the way it is.

For those who can't see Goldwingfahrer's attached image, it's a correction of an error in my typing of an earlier script. The statement that was typed contains "Rec6-1", which should have been typed as "Rec601". I guess my coffee must have been wearing off.
Reply With Quote
  #43  
12-03-2015, 04:45 AM
Goldwingfahrer's Avatar
Goldwingfahrer Goldwingfahrer is offline
Remembered
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 453
Thanked 80 Times in 71 Posts
Hi sanlyn
I wondered how you can set the settings in TMPGEnc.
The "Lupe" is the magic word ........
Screen 1

image 2
Cuda 54.9% is not bad [nvidia GTX960]

Unfortunately, I have here the programs on different PCs.
is always a lot of work and then move the back again.


Attached Images
File Type: jpg 1.Lupe_TMPGEnc.jpg (72.4 KB, 12 downloads)
File Type: png 2.Cuda.png (21.3 KB, 11 downloads)
Reply With Quote
  #44  
12-06-2015, 05:34 AM
ozshots ozshots is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 19
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I can't wait to replicate this amazing restoration steps... but just getting basics right for now. Definitely Avidemux 2.6.10 has a bug and aspect ratio does not work. Avidemux 2.5 get it right. Aspect ratio is ignored by Windows Media Player and Media Player Classic, but works in VLC player and most important for me - hardware WDTV player.

Is there a very basic de-noise or colour filter I can blindly apply for all videos? I understand each of them needs individual treatment, but for now I need just to watch 50 hours of raw footage :-)
Reply With Quote
  #45  
12-06-2015, 06:32 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,711
Thanked 2,140 Times in 1,841 Posts
Avidemux has lots of bugs.

But you must be careful with aspects. Pro software usually gives you a warning about wrong settings. Freeware like Avidemux just crashed, leaving you to think the software is bad when it's really your settings.

For chroma noise. VirtualDub has the CCD filter.

For general denoise, Avisynth and VirtualDub have some options.
But even then, "general" can vary. Temporal? Interframe? So you still need to drill down NR needs some more.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #46  
12-06-2015, 01:35 PM
sanlyn sanlyn is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: N. Carolina and NY, USA
Posts: 3,648
Thanked 1,265 Times in 972 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ozshots View Post
Aspect ratio is ignored by Windows Media Player and Media Player Classic, but works in VLC player and most important for me - hardware WDTV player.
Unless you've done something wrong, Media Player Classic has no problem with aspect ratios. Check that you haven't told MPC to ignore them. My Windows Media Player has no aspect ratio problem, but I'm using WMP in XP. If you have a later version, you're stuck.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ozshots View Post
Is there a very basic de-noise or colour filter I can blindly apply for all videos?
I'm afraid not. Besides, effective denoisers would be too slow for real-time playback. Some TV's have noise filters, but they're primitive blurring filters that really don't look so great.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank sanlyn for this useful post: ozshots (12-07-2015)
  #47  
12-07-2015, 05:22 AM
ozshots ozshots is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 19
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hi All,
Another attempt to proper encoding “daylight.avi”
Avidemux 2.5.6 is used.

X264 codec, 2 passes, tiny bitrate 1500k
Interlaced to 50fps, bottom field first.
No resize, aspect ratio set 16:9
AAC (faac) audio, 128 bitrate
Plays nicely in WDTV.

I can't really spot much difference in quality between bitrate 1500k and 4500k. What is the right way to determine bitrate?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sanlyn View Post
I'm afraid not. Besides, effective denoisers would be too slow for real-time playback. Some TV's have noise filters, but they're primitive blurring filters that really don't look so great.
I was thinking about using one of denoisers in avidemux encoding batch, as part of very rudimentary restoration...


Attached Files
File Type: zip daylight256_wd twopass 1500.zip (1.55 MB, 4 downloads)
Reply With Quote
  #48  
12-07-2015, 06:04 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,711
Thanked 2,140 Times in 1,841 Posts
Avidemux 2.6 is superior to 2.5 for H.264. Just remember this. Newer x264, probably.
2.5 is best for MPEG-2
2.6 is best for MKV/MP4 H.264

I find that the quality slider is better than selecting a bitrate in x264. I only select bitrates manually in MainConcept.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #49  
12-07-2015, 06:10 AM
Goldwingfahrer's Avatar
Goldwingfahrer Goldwingfahrer is offline
Remembered
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 453
Thanked 80 Times in 71 Posts
Old version of LAV

Images are color but still not good

Avidemux 2.5.6 [32-bit] I have here also.
But I work rarely with AviDemux.

Duration image and sound do not match [see Screen 1]


Reply With Quote
The following users thank Goldwingfahrer for this useful post: ozshots (12-08-2015)
  #50  
12-07-2015, 05:07 PM
sanlyn sanlyn is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: N. Carolina and NY, USA
Posts: 3,648
Thanked 1,265 Times in 972 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ozshots View Post
X264 codec, 2 passes, tiny bitrate 1500k
Interlaced to 50fps, bottom field first.
No resize, aspect ratio set 16:9
AAC (faac) audio, 128 bitrate
Plays nicely in WDTV.

I can't really spot much difference in quality between bitrate 1500k and 4500k.
I can. daylight256_wd twopass 1500.mlv is soft, motion is blurry, and what little contrast was in the original looks pale. [/quote]

Quote:
Originally Posted by ozshots View Post
What is the right way to determine bitrate?
Whatever looks best. You need more bitrate for motion and detail. The camera is hopping all over the place. If you plan to show these on TV, use enough bitrate to help your players with motion video.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ozshots View Post
I was thinking about using one of denoisers in avidemux encoding batch, as part of very rudimentary restoration...
I'll echo lordsmurf about batch work. One reason I don't use AviDemux is that it has no really nice denoisers or restoration tools. QTGMC was enough denosiing for this video.

The video didn't play at 16:9 in several players, including WMP, MPC, MPC-BE, MPC-HC, DivX Player, and PowerDVD. Avidemux has incorrectly set the PAR to 64:45. The standard PAR for PAL 16:9 720x576 is 16:11. Avidemux's comments on that have been contradicted in many posts.

Caution: many playback devices won't play mkv. It would be a shame to have to carry your WDTV around to play these videos for others in their homes if their hardware won't recognize mkv.


The attached mp4 was encoded at a 3000 bitrate (4000 would be sharper) with a Pixel Aspect Ratio (PAR) of standard PAL 16:11 for a 720x480 frame @16:9 DAR. It played correctly on every device I tried. I deinterlaced with QTGMC and made no other corrections.


Attached Files
File Type: mp4 daylight_16_11_3000.mp4 (3.18 MB, 13 downloads)

Last edited by sanlyn; 12-07-2015 at 05:30 PM.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank sanlyn for this useful post: ozshots (12-08-2015)
  #51  
12-08-2015, 10:28 AM
sanlyn sanlyn is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: N. Carolina and NY, USA
Posts: 3,648
Thanked 1,265 Times in 972 Posts
Okay, so I remain true to form and keep making silly typos. In the above post I wrote:

Quote:
Originally Posted by sanlyn View Post
The attached mp4 was encoded at a 3000 bitrate (4000 would be sharper) with a Pixel Aspect Ratio (PAR) of standard PAL 16:11 for a 720x480 frame @16:9 DAR. It played correctly on every device I tried. I deinterlaced with QTGMC and made no other corrections.
Obviously, if you're paying attention (which I guess I wasn't) 720x480 isn't PAL. At least I got the pixel aspect ratio correct for PAL 16:9. For PAL the frame size should have been typed as 720x576.

720x480 would be NTSC, in which case the NTSC PAR for 16:9 720x480 would be 40:33.

Som media players read the PAR info, some don't. Some just look at DAR.

Last edited by sanlyn; 12-08-2015 at 10:52 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #52  
12-08-2015, 06:46 PM
ozshots ozshots is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 19
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Goldwingfahrer View Post
Old version of LAV

Images are color but still not good

Avidemux 2.5.6 [32-bit] I have here also.
But I work rarely with AviDemux.

Duration image and sound do not match [see Screen 1]
Is that a big problem? I can't notice that 0.02 second difference...

I have 2 choices:
  • Avidemux 2.5.6 with sound difference and old encoder (it was fine just a year ago, right?)
  • Avidemux 2.6 where I have to resize video, as aspect is not set

I'm leaning towards the first option...

MP4 has difficulties on WDTV as I heard many times... is there another container I could use?

In any case, I keep the original files, so I can always re-encode with better tools - which I intend to do for restoration...
So maybe it's a not big deal either way after all?
Reply With Quote
  #53  
12-08-2015, 11:41 PM
Goldwingfahrer's Avatar
Goldwingfahrer Goldwingfahrer is offline
Remembered
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 453
Thanked 80 Times in 71 Posts
Here in Europe there are many reports that there are problems with the WDTV.

Look but for a LG-BP-240
I take this for USB2 + USB3 Sticks and ext.HDDs.
Here I have the LG connected via HDMI to my ONKYO and also hear music from CDs.

AviDemux I also have 2 versions, the old 2.5 and later 2.6.

Audio offset ...
because I thought that it was the delay may be even greater for longer movies.
Take control of the but.

MP4 as Kontainer is okay, is my most dear as MKV, MKV because I can not open it in Edius and Sony Vegas Pro and not in Media Composer 8.1.

MP4 [AVC + AAC] I create in interlace and progressive also in hybrid and in Edius.

Give me a movie I can create hybrid in MP4 interlaced.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank Goldwingfahrer for this useful post: ozshots (12-09-2015)
  #54  
12-09-2015, 04:18 AM
ozshots ozshots is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 19
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Goldwingfahrer View Post
Here in Europe there are many reports that there are problems with the WDTV.

Look but for a LG-BP-240
I take this for USB2 + USB3 Sticks and ext.HDDs.
Here I have the LG connected via HDMI to my ONKYO and also hear music from CDs.
Wow, we have next model, LG-BP-250 and it costs about the same as WDTV, blu-ray is bonus!!!
Just wondering if it plays all video formats like WDTV....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Goldwingfahrer View Post
Give me a movie I can create hybrid in MP4 interlaced.
WDTV does not handle the interlaced...

Quote:
Originally Posted by sanlyn View Post
Okay, so I remain true to form and keep making silly typos. In the above post I wrote:


Obviously, if you're paying attention (which I guess I wasn't) 720x480 isn't PAL. At least I got the pixel aspect ratio correct for PAL 16:9. For PAL the frame size should have been typed as 720x576.

720x480 would be NTSC, in which case the NTSC PAR for 16:9 720x480 would be 40:33.
This is correct. The original file from my camera is 720*576
If aspect ratio does not work (avidemux 2.6.10), have to upscale to 1024 * 576
Reply With Quote
  #55  
12-09-2015, 05:50 AM
Goldwingfahrer's Avatar
Goldwingfahrer Goldwingfahrer is offline
Remembered
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 453
Thanked 80 Times in 71 Posts
Quote:
WDTV does not handle the interlaced...
Here's a test correctly MP4 Interlaced


Attached Files
File Type: mp4 M2U00416.mp4 (6.71 MB, 13 downloads)
Reply With Quote
  #56  
12-09-2015, 10:20 PM
Writesindia Writesindia is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks
one more question.
Quality are same?
Reply With Quote
  #57  
12-10-2015, 04:31 PM
sanlyn sanlyn is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: N. Carolina and NY, USA
Posts: 3,648
Thanked 1,265 Times in 972 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ozshots View Post
This is correct. The original file from my camera is 720*576
If aspect ratio does not work (avidemux 2.6.10), have to upscale to 1024 * 576
Aspect ratio in Avidemux doesn't work in some players because the documentation on pixel aspect ratios is full of beans. Resizing is an unnecessary pain in the neck in this case.

Your WDTV doesn't handle interlaced video? Ask for a replacement. Someone sold you a lemon.

You've seen samples of proper interlace and regulation pixel aspect ratios. Those samples worked for me and Goldwingfahrer.
Reply With Quote
  #58  
12-10-2015, 05:06 PM
Goldwingfahrer's Avatar
Goldwingfahrer Goldwingfahrer is offline
Remembered
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 453
Thanked 80 Times in 71 Posts
Quote:
Thanks
one more question.
Quality are same?
This must be compared to a "differential filter"
and there watch the signal to a TV.
For SD material, a sufficient control monitor.

I can compare the original and the copy and save the difference even as a movie. Not only as a single image.

Many television and most of recorder / Feeder but have incorporated different deinterlacer.
Not all can interlaced display clean, usually comes because the TV only "Bob"
used.

This deinterlaced are optimized primarily for realtime Out.
Not the best quality.
But these are just my experiences.

Sometimes better ists to work on PC with QTGMC or TGMC.
Reply With Quote
  #59  
12-28-2015, 10:31 PM
ozshots ozshots is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 19
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I will look at changing my WDTV to LG-BP-250.
Another problem with my WDTV it does not display video thumbnails. If I enable "media library" it thrash my HDD for many days and never completes the job.

In the meanwhile the pain continues.

As noticed by Goldwingfahrer, Avidemux makes errors and some files audio and video streams lengths don't match.

I used command prompt Mkvmerge from latest 8.6.1 MKVToolNix. That difference in lengths seems to kill the merge process! Curiously, it's OK if I use Mkvmerge GUI. But from command prompt, it does not work - first part is fine, after the merge it's all grey - no video.

Shall I try submit a bug to Avidemux? MkvToolNix won't help:

Warning: The track number 0 from the file '20071022 10.57.38.avi.mkv' can probably not be appended correctly to the track number 0 from the file '20071022 10.57
.29.avi.mkv': The codec's private data does not match (lengths: 41 and 42). Please make sure that the resulting file plays correctly the whole time. The author
of this program will probably not give support for playback issues with the resulting file.
Reply With Quote
  #60  
12-29-2015, 12:13 AM
Goldwingfahrer's Avatar
Goldwingfahrer Goldwingfahrer is offline
Remembered
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 453
Thanked 80 Times in 71 Posts
My LG BP240 displays only text or simple images.
But I do not care...........see picture 1 + 2

Quote:
I used command prompt Mkvmerge from latest 8.6.1 MKVToolNix
I am also working with mkvtoolnix ..
But I'm only the stream with clean
Mkvextract GUI 2, see Figure 3
Video [AVC] and Audio [DTS] I Muxe but with YAMB, see picture 4

Pictures Original Size = MKV.Zip


Attached Images
File Type: jpg 1.text.jpg (37.2 KB, 7 downloads)
File Type: jpg 2.Bild.jpg (39.2 KB, 8 downloads)
File Type: png 3.MKVExtractGUI-2.2.2.9 (Resurrection).png (127.7 KB, 6 downloads)
File Type: jpg 4.Sauber_Clean.jpg (46.7 KB, 9 downloads)
Attached Files
File Type: zip MKV.zip (5.25 MB, 2 downloads)
Reply With Quote
Reply




Tags
minidv xvid

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Exporting H264 - Adobe Premiere MP4 vs Quicktime MOV? Winsordawson Encode, Convert for streaming 30 07-25-2014 03:52 AM
MiniDV Tapes not playing - blank blue screen? naripeddi Videography: Cameras, TVs and Players 4 03-05-2013 10:37 PM
JVC SR-VS10 Eats MiniDV Tapes - Help? jbd5010 Capture, Record, Transfer 3 02-10-2011 07:33 AM
Vdub won't recognise Xvid in W7 x64 wobbler44 Encode, Convert for discs 2 08-14-2010 11:13 AM
Converting xvid to dvd dmsinger Encode, Convert for discs 5 04-07-2005 05:45 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:02 AM