06-18-2018, 09:54 AM
Free Member

I am very new to ripping VHS and storing them but here is what I have so far and the issue I am hitting.

I am ripping on an i7 64bit XP Pro machine with 8GB of RAM using an old school Tevion USB Capture device with the USB2800 drivers.

The captured masters are 720x480 @ 29.970 FPS with huffyuv and audio at Stereo 48khz
I don't remember the model VCR (I am not at home right now to check) The master captures to me look good.

I am then using AviSynth scripts to filter/process the capture and pulling the avs into VirtualDub to render the production copy as MKV using x264 with default settings.

Here is where the issue arises...
The MKV Plays just fine and looks absolutely brilliant on my 70" in the living room. All is good until around the last 30 mins of the title, the video and audio go insane, image is entirely scrambled, blocked, audio turns into static/screeching. I don't have a sample to upload right now but I have had the same exact result on two conversions so far.

I have no idea what is going wrong. The rendering/dubbing/conversion completes without issue on the machine. No errors reported etc. It is just on each attempt (14hrs running) the end of the title goes nuts.

I will try to upload a sample later but if anyone has any ideas right off the bat, please let me know. I will also attach my avisynth scripts later too.

-- merged --

I haven't been able to upload samples yet. Been tied down with work/family. I did another test converting an AVI encoded with lagarith to x264 and same exact result. The MKV plays but near the end everything goes nuts.

The master avi doesn't have the issue though. Just the conversion.

-- merged --

Here is the AVS Script I am using. I have tried it on 4 different files all with the same result. The movie plays great until about 50 mins or so in then goes nuts. Green blocking, scrambled image, screeching audio etc.