Quantcast Capture PCIe card vs. USB, ATI vs. Pinnacle? - digitalFAQ Forum
  #1  
09-30-2019, 02:37 PM
BelowZero BelowZero is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 30
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I'm looking to upgrade my capture device from a Pinnacle 710-USB to something with better quality. My WIN7 computer only has PCIe slots available.
I found this Diamond ATI TV Wonder HD 600 card on eBay today.
https://www.ebay.com/itm/NEW-Diamond...sAAOSwfzBdcHBn

Just wondering if this card will work in Windows7 and if it's on anyone's recommended list.
OR, should I keep looking for an ATI 600 USB?

Any advice appreciated!
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
10-01-2019, 01:58 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is online now
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 9,814
Thanked 1,675 Times in 1,455 Posts
That 710 is nice. What sort of quality issues are you seeing?
That ATI 600 PCI card is junk.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
10-01-2019, 08:49 AM
BelowZero BelowZero is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 30
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I've never had any quality issues with the 710. I've always considered it a good piece of my setup. Thanks for confirming that for me.

The problem is I can't get the 710 to play nice with a new (used) computer I'm trying to set up. After setting everything up I was able to capture a couple of VHS tapes just fine into VirtualDub. Then I scrapped the Win10 and installed Win7 (I wanted XP but I already had the Win7 disks so I went with that). After installing everything, I tried capturing some more VHS, but the signal is suddenly not stable. Lots of jitters and framing issues. I've been working on that for a couple days now to no avail. It works fine using an old Honestech VidBox I have, but don't want to use that. I think I've tried everything I can think of from new cables to updated drivers to different VCRs to capturing with different software. Always the same unstable picture. When I plug it into the old Win10 computer it still works like a charm. Quite frustrating.
Perhaps you or someone else can think of something I haven't tried or offer some advice. I really would like to continue using the 710.

btw, Welcome back. I do hope your health issues are on the mend!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
10-01-2019, 10:41 AM
BelowZero BelowZero is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 30
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
An update...
Computer and Pinnacle 710-USB now playing together nicely.
Bought a new USB cable and that did the trick.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best PCIe capture card for VHS? hdfills Capture, Record, Transfer 21 08-07-2019 12:07 PM
Building a capture rig with a PCIe card? f4c3_v4lu3 Capture, Record, Transfer 2 09-06-2016 05:27 PM
Capture card for standard x4 PCIe slots? charles845 Capture, Record, Transfer 5 06-25-2016 06:22 AM
Adjusting picture on AIW 2006 PCIe capture card JumperBaby Capture, Record, Transfer 6 09-14-2012 03:39 PM
For Sale: Pinnacle Studio movieBox Plus USB capture card, new in box lordsmurf Marketplace 1 07-26-2012 12:48 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:04 PM