Quantcast Good capture card that works on Win10 - digitalFAQ Forum
  #1  
03-25-2020, 08:26 AM
RS456 RS456 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 66
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
As of right now I am using AG1980 with Hauppage USB Live 2 and Diamond VC500. As far as I know Hauppage does not work outside its own software and VC500 is not working on Windows 10 at all. I want to use virtualdub which is recommended in the forums for flexibility to get the best video quality. Does any one know any adapters that are confirmed to work in Windows 10 with virtualdub? Another question is it is possible to make the video sample better like removing the fuzziness? This is a 1980s broadcast of a 1960s Walt Disney program showing a 1940s cartoon film.

Sample is made with AG1980 with Hauppage USB Live 2 with Hauppage software.


Attached Files
File Type: mkv Disney cartoon sample-A-A.mkv (67.09 MB, 8 downloads)
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
03-25-2020, 09:27 AM
BarryTheCrab's Avatar
BarryTheCrab BarryTheCrab is online now
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Gillette Stadium
Posts: 170
Thanked 32 Times in 26 Posts
I have a VC500 and a Hauppage 850, both work in W10.

All TDS sufferers are ignored.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
03-25-2020, 10:02 AM
msgohan msgohan is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 1,084
Thanked 235 Times in 207 Posts
Both should work in Win10 and with VirtualDub.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
03-25-2020, 11:13 PM
RS456 RS456 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 66
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Is it something to do with 32 bit and 64 bit Win 10? With VC500 both its own software and VirtualDub failed. I was even sent a replacement by Diamond and that too failed. No Video in its own software and error in capturing video in VirtualDub. I cleaned and reinstalled the drivers several times but no success. I thought maybe it was a custom made computer issue but same issue was present in my brand computer which was also Windows 10 64 bit. With Hauppage USB Live 2 no issues with its own software but same error with VirtualDub just like with VC500 in both computers.

I tried the VC500 with my old Win 7 computer. That one clearly had no issue but there is too much lag in that computer. Any more tips? Maybe a clean Win 10 computer missing codecs needed for VC500 that is available on Win 7 as standard.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
03-26-2020, 03:09 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 8,969
Thanked 1,503 Times in 1,312 Posts
The ATI 600 USB clones work well, in VirtualDub.

The problem with VC500 cards is that there appears to be many production versions, with some being bad cards (AGC issues, etc). So any VC500 may not be the seeming quality VC500 used by others.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
03-26-2020, 03:32 AM
msgohan msgohan is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 1,084
Thanked 235 Times in 207 Posts
This user got VC500 + Win10 + VirtualDub to work by "downgrading the drivers from version 7.0 (in the 2016 release on the Diamond website) to version 6.0 (the 2015 release)": Diamond VC500 won't capture with VirtualDub and Win10

Regarding your sample, the most obvious problems:
  1. You need to adjust the device's Proc Amp controls (lower Brightness in particular).
  2. Something may be clipping the video to the range of ~16-235: an intermediate conversion to RGB?

Sample
Disney cartoon sample-A-A.mkv 518.jpg

Sample with Brightness lowered using ColorYUV(off_y=-33). It still looks bad because brights are clipped.
You must be logged in to view this content; either login or register for the forum. The attached screen shots, before/after images, photos and graphics are created/posted for the benefit of site members. And you are invited to join our digital media community.


Reply With Quote
  #7  
03-26-2020, 04:55 AM
RS456 RS456 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 66
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
It seems Diamond actually recognized the Windows 10 issue after several months. I just noticed they recently put a Windows 10 update for EZgrabber. I installed it. It didn't fix the EZgrabber issue but it did fix the issue with PowerDirector the new software that is coming along with VC500. Now I am actually getting video in PowerDirector with VC500 and it seems to fix the error message I was getting in VirtualDub when I tried to capture video. Now it is trying to capture something but I don't see a video in it. Any ideas?

Update:

Virtualdub is now capturing video but no preview and there is BYOP over the captured video.

Last edited by RS456; 03-26-2020 at 05:37 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
03-26-2020, 07:23 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 8,969
Thanked 1,503 Times in 1,312 Posts
PowerDirector is crap software, don't waste your time on it. (Testing to see if the card works is fine, but nothing else in it.)

BYOP?

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
03-26-2020, 07:52 AM
RS456 RS456 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 66
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Virtualdub actually captured video with no preview on what it is capturing but the captured video has has frames and I think bitrate info and BYOP (whatever that means) over the captured video. I don't know what I did (but shutdown my computer) but that info is no longer present in the newer captured video. I still don't see a preview in virtualdub. Any fix for this?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
03-27-2020, 12:21 AM
RS456 RS456 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 66
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
How is this vhs rip? This is now captured with Virtualdub (with lack of vdub preview) with uncompressed YUY then reencoded with MeGui. I need all expert opinions. Be as critical as you can be. It helps me learn how to get the best VHS rips.


Attached Files
File Type: mkv Segal.avi-muxed.mkv (20.27 MB, 13 downloads)
Reply With Quote
  #11  
03-28-2020, 06:34 PM
msgohan msgohan is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 1,084
Thanked 235 Times in 207 Posts
Video -> Preview instead of Overlay.
  1. Your encode is cropped to a non-standard resolution. This may be acceptable to you if you'll only ever play these files on a PC. For compatibility with hardware, you should pad the vertical resolution to 480.
  2. You didn't flag it with the correct aspect ratio.
  3. There is a crazy amount of temporal filtering. The screen is filled with motion trails as much as it's filled with actual content. I assume you added some noise reduction filters, but you threw the baby out with the bathwater.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is Asus AGP-V6800 a good capture card? Aerith Capture, Record, Transfer 2 03-20-2020 07:53 AM
Capture card and TBC that both works for PAL? F3LixBl0m Project Planning, Workflows 4 05-31-2018 04:11 PM
Good compatable USB hub that works with card reader? Sossity Computers 3 02-11-2018 06:21 AM
ATI 600 USB card works in VirtualDub? AGC issues like 650 card? metaleonid Capture, Record, Transfer 13 08-25-2013 08:37 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:18 AM