05-20-2020, 02:04 AM
Free Member

Hello, a little introduction, and my digitizing project...

Hi! I am new here. I've held a job in TV for over 30 years as primarily a tape/master control guy. I always loved tape formats. I have far too many, and this lockdown situation has afforded me the time to go through a bunch of tapes and begin digitizing them. At work, I do a lot of encoding from tape to computer, but I'm new at having a home setup. I kept seeing this forum come up in searches and I can see that there is a lot of useful information here.

Right now, I have mostly Betamax, VHS, 8mm, and a few Laser Discs to encode, but I also have a handful of Hi8 and MiniDV tapes. For some reason in the 90s, I didn't think HD was going to catch on, so I also amassed a few 3/4", Beta SP, 1"(yes one-inch C!), and even a few DigiBeta tapes. I even have 2 or 3 JVC Digital-S(D9) tapes...how's that for obscure?

I'll be leaning on this forum for pretty much everything from recommendations for video capture cards as well as source decks.

My current situation: My old Panasonic PV-4020, which I was using strictly for logging purposes, just died. I have an AG-7750, but I lose the ability to playback LP speed there(I believe), so the quandary is how to proceed. Do I find another 4020 or something like it? I need a real time counter at least. Or, do I invest in something professional that has a sturdier tape path for playback? (I know that LP is the unwanted child of tape speeds and is not common on pro decks).

To conclude, thanks in advance for your help. I hope it won't be frowned upon if I jump into threads where there's a question I can answer. This looks like a great place and I'm looking forward to my stay here!

Thanks,
Dan
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

05-20-2020, 02:36 AM
Free Member

There is a similar thread here, it will give you some ideas,

I too work on a wide range of tapes consumer and pro, PAL and NTSC for specific local customers, here is my players: