Quantcast From capture device to computer: does USB cable matter? - digitalFAQ Forum
Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Project Planning, Workflows

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
05-20-2020, 04:28 PM
bentley bentley is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 13
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I'm setting up my very first capturing hardware workflow, but have a question about one component: the cable from the capture device to the recording laptop. Does it need to be anything specifically robust, or will any old cable do?

The capture device is a Pinnacle 710 with USB type-B (the square one) output. The laptop is a Dell with regular USB 3.0 inputs.

Is there some fancy A-to-B cable that's recommended by the gurus here? Or can I use anything from my basement box-o'-cables?

Is the Pinnacle's output large/fast enough that I specifically need a USB 3.0 cable?

Does cable length matter? I've read that shorter cables are better when transmitting an analog signal; is the same true of digital?

Any and all advice is very welcome. This is the last piece of the puzzle that will get me started. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
05-20-2020, 05:02 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,139
Thanked 1,983 Times in 1,710 Posts
For that card, a good USB2 cable is all that is needed.
- Preferably a cable with a ferrite choke, but it's not required.
- At minimum, it should be thick enough to have good gauge and shielding, but still not required.
- 3' (feet) max length is ideal

The only danger of using a crappy cable is data dropouts (signal loss, corrupt data), or signal noise backwashing from the computer to the A/V (thereby adding noise into the audio or video). This rarely happens, but is possible.

USB2 is more than fast enough for lossless SD video. You must remember we were capturing video long before USB3 was even invented.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
05-20-2020, 05:10 PM
bentley bentley is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 13
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks for the quick reply! Any specific brands you'd recommend?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
05-20-2020, 07:00 PM
latreche34 latreche34 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,793
Thanked 300 Times in 279 Posts
The only problem is that legacy device may not work on a USB 3.0 port, may requires USB 2.0, It happened to me sometimes it works, sometimes it quits. USB 3.0 cable cannot be used anyway even if you wanted to, the square side has extra pins and different shape it won't connect to the pinnacle device.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
05-26-2020, 04:49 PM
bentley bentley is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 13
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks for the heads-up on the 3.0 cable pins, Latreche!

The laptop I'm using has been tested with another Pinnacle 710, so I'm hopeful that it won't have the 2.0/3.0 hiccup you mentioned. Fingers crossed!

If anyone's curious, I ended up buying this. As soon as it arrives -- oh boy! I can start digitizing tapes at long last!
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stereo tape but mono capture: Does it matter? colony Capture, Record, Transfer 10 03-01-2019 09:26 AM
Viewsonic VP2365wb/LED: Does monitor response matter for video capture? Mejnour Project Planning, Workflows 3 02-12-2018 07:13 AM
Advice on VHS capture setup (capture device, proc-amp, recommended connections) Simon76 Capture, Record, Transfer 12 12-23-2010 03:46 AM
How to split cable TV and cable internet coax for two rooms ? stoogedog Computers 6 12-05-2006 06:15 AM
Digital Cable Capture Resolution lantern Capture, Record, Transfer 1 05-29-2004 06:02 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:55 AM