Quantcast Planning transfer project, incomplete setup, what to pick? - Page 2 - digitalFAQ Forum
Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Project Planning, Workflows

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #21  
01-03-2021, 01:56 PM
pcourtney pcourtney is online now
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Location: London UK
Posts: 25
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by latreche34 View Post
I think the OP is interested more in the inputs rather than the outputs since he is getting it for capturing analog video.
its gonna be tough

picture 1 is the 2006 AGP card which has the large White block connector, and does indeed expose the necessary S-Video input

sadly picture 2 is the 2006 PCie card, which has the smaller black Sony Mini DVI connector, and if you look closely neither of those two mini DIN plugs are the correct pin orintation for an S-Video for input, so how exactly is the OP going to connect a source to those plugs/connectors ???

this is interesting below

ATI All In Wonder PCI-E breakout box pinout?


Attached Images
File Type: png ATI 2006 AGP Card White Block Cable.png (413.8 KB, 6 downloads)
File Type: png ATI 2006 PCIe Cable to Mini DVI Socket.png (687.0 KB, 6 downloads)
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #22  
01-03-2021, 03:16 PM
bbmaster123 bbmaster123 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Posts: 15
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by pcourtney View Post
its gonna be tough

picture 1 is the 2006 AGP card which has the large White block connector, and does indeed expose the necessary S-Video input

sadly picture 2 is the 2006 PCie card, which has the smaller black Sony Mini DVI connector, and if you look closely neither of those two mini DIN plugs are the correct pin orintation for an S-Video for input, so how exactly is the OP going to connect a source to those plugs/connectors ???

this is interesting below

ATI All In Wonder PCI-E breakout box pinout?
I think there may be a bit of a misunderstanding

I don't have an AGP card, both of my cards are pcie, and use the ATI I/O connector (silver stab) that look the same but have a different pin configuration.

I'm also not trying to plug an s-video cable directly into the I/O connector, if that's what you meant? I have a silver stab cable, just not the one for my working 2006 pcie card, it only works with my dead x600
Reply With Quote
  #23  
01-03-2021, 03:56 PM
pcourtney pcourtney is online now
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Location: London UK
Posts: 25
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
can you look at the Din Plugs on the end of your X600 PCIe stax connector

and compare to the Mini DVI connector ( Stax ) on the 2006 Edition PCIe card that I have attached, are they the same ?


Attached Images
File Type: png ATI 2006 PCIe Cable to Mini DVI Socket.png (687.0 KB, 4 downloads)

Last edited by pcourtney; 01-03-2021 at 04:17 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
01-03-2021, 04:21 PM
bbmaster123 bbmaster123 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Posts: 15
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by pcourtney View Post
I know exactly what you have - two ATI PCI express cards :-)

Merely explaining that the 2006 AGP card WILL allow you to input an S-Video signal / source
and the 2006 PCIe card you have will NOT - unless you have both the Mini DVI ( Silver Stab ) cable and the ATI Purple input box
Quote:
its gonna be tough to connect your 2006 PCIe card up to an S-Video source with just the silver stab !
Gotcha, I just got confused because I had already explained the hardware I have so I didn't get why you were talking about the AGP version of the card, or not having the stab and box, which I do have.

Quote:
Did you even look at the pictures I attached ?
well of course I did I don't have any of that, I have this: https://ksassets.timeincuk.net/wp/uploads/sites/54/2005/05/1413-cables2-1.jpg

Quote:
have tried to be very clear and concise in my posts ( as I have been there before you )

sorry I did not make it make clearer, or I did make the effort to be more simpler for you so i will repeat
Quote:
anyway, I will get my coat and leave - bye !
I apologize, I did not mean to come off as abrasive or anything like that. I appreciate your input
Reply With Quote
  #25  
01-03-2021, 06:16 PM
pcourtney pcourtney is online now
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Location: London UK
Posts: 25
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
no worries

can you see how the Purple Din ( on the stab ) connects to the Domino box - so that you can connect an S-Video cable into your VHS source

that is going to be the same way your 2006 PCIe card is going to work - you need both the Stab and the Domino Box ( or the ATI Purple box ) , which has the required S-Video input connector for your VHS source

you can't plug an S-Video cable ( din plug ) directly into your X600 PCIe Stab or your 2006 PCIe Stab as some people have advised you - to test this you can try and connect an S-Video cable yourself to the Stab and check
Reply With Quote
  #26  
01-03-2021, 07:17 PM
bbmaster123 bbmaster123 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Posts: 15
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by pcourtney View Post
no worries

can you see how the Purple Din ( on the stab ) connects to the Domino box - so that you can connect an S-Video cable into your VHS source

that is going to be the same way your 2006 PCIe card is going to work - you need both the Stab and the Domino Box ( or the ATI Purple box ) , which has the required S-Video input connector for your VHS source

you can't plug an S-Video cable ( din plug ) directly into your X600 PCIe Stab or your 2006 PCIe Stab as some people have advised you - to test this you can try and connect an S-Video cable yourself to the Stab and check
again though, I understand that and I have the input domino and stab for x600 like I mentioned previously, except my x600 is dead. and I don't think anyone said to connect s-video directly to the stab. I know better than to force things together that don't fit.

I'll update this thread in a few days when I actually have the 2006 and aiw usb.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
01-04-2021, 01:51 AM
pcourtney pcourtney is online now
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Location: London UK
Posts: 25
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
I think that might have been better to have done that in the beginning, what a waste of time
Reply With Quote
  #28  
01-10-2021, 12:09 PM
bbmaster123 bbmaster123 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Posts: 15
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
So over the last week I've gotten the AIW USB, and there's a local x600 I can now grab this coming week. Plans are changing around a lot lately.

Anyway, I tested the aiw usb, the light came on, but dimly, and not detected in windows. I grabbed a universal laptop charger just to see, and the light came on full strength and windows made the usb sound.

Since its a universal charger, it is supposed to adjust output to match what the device is drawing, but I saw the number 15.2 on its small lcd on the the charge brick, and instantly unplugged it for fear of frying the unit.

I just wanted to be sure its safe to plug back in before I continue. My charger is PWR-LAP-UD120. Can someone please confirm? If not, can someone link to a compatible power supply?

EDIT: I Tried again with the OEM power supply, led too some time to turn on this time, but it comes up in device manager with error 43, I believe the box is working, just a failing power supply most likely

-- merged --

Well I got a little impatient and tried out my universal power supply, and its working thankfully, so I'll make some samples and share my results.

Unfortunately my xp system was behaving strangely, so I'm in the middle of reinstalling windows clean.

When I started exploring about this I found this thread
https://obsproject.com/forum/threads...ing-vhs.80171/

And I've been using OBS for a long time so its easier for me.
But yea I heard that is VirtualDub is the best for it, I just downloaded it.

What can I do about the Capture Card? Should I get a different RCA TO USB Card? like the Elgato one?
Someone said I need to get a TBC, Do I really need to?
Reply With Quote
  #29  
01-10-2021, 07:06 PM
BW37 BW37 is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: MN
Posts: 118
Thanked 31 Times in 27 Posts
You haven't specified which AIW USB you have, the AIW 600 or the AIW USB 2.0.

Here's a discussion of both including information about the power supply needed for the 2.0 in post #17.

BW
Reply With Quote
  #30  
01-10-2021, 08:20 PM
bbmaster123 bbmaster123 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Posts: 15
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
huh, I thought I did. My bad.
I have the ATI TV Wonder usb 2.0, attached image.

I discovered my gaming capture box has a power cable with 6v 1.66a, working with the aiw usb, so using that instead now. laptop charger worried me

-- merged --

Well I've managed a successful test capture in virtualdub 1.9.11 via s-video. 0 dropped/inserted frames over 60 seconds, Image is stable, colours look good, audio working, etc.

Its late and I have work tomorrow, so I'll make proper samples afterward. I still need to redo the cabling behind the computer and test a longer run to check for dropped frames, but cpu usage is under 10% so I don't think it will be an issue, hopefully.


Attached Images
File Type: jpg 4102JX63VXL._AC_SY355_.jpg (18.8 KB, 6 downloads)
Reply With Quote
  #31  
01-11-2021, 07:30 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 10,320
Thanked 1,778 Times in 1,545 Posts
Alright, before starting your project, let's review ...

- AIW USB ... on Windows XP?
- TBC? Or TBC(ish) combo?
- VCR?

Nothing sucks more than thinking "I'm ready!" and then realizing you;re not. Been there, done that.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
  #32  
01-11-2021, 10:05 PM
bbmaster123 bbmaster123 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Posts: 15
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Alright, before starting your project, let's review ...

- AIW USB ... on Windows XP?
- TBC? Or TBC(ish) combo?
- VCR?
AIW USB on XP - check
TBC (ish) - check
VCR - check
software - working on it, almost ready

it seems lately everyone wants a piece of my time so I have yet to install huffyuv and get everything into a less temporary setup, I don't want to do this whole thing on the floor

Quote:
Nothing sucks more than thinking "I'm ready!" and then realizing you;re not. Been there, done that.
I can definitely agree, but have you ever been in the middle of a job and realize don't have something you need? IMO that's pretty bad too!
Reply With Quote
  #33  
01-12-2021, 02:18 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 10,320
Thanked 1,778 Times in 1,545 Posts
You're new workflow is farther than I am. I'm building a new AIW system, and XP won't boot.
At least the workflow is set (S-VHS VCR, TBC).

I know all about sidetracks. Recent storms knocked out more gear.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
01-12-2021, 12:25 PM
bbmaster123 bbmaster123 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Posts: 15
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
You're new workflow is farther than I am. I'm building a new AIW system, and XP won't boot.
oh no, that's no fun. Definitely been there too many times myself!
That is actually my area of expertise, troubleshooting pc and windows issues. I had one in last week that wouldn't post... because its a 2010 Dell, and it can't use a discreet gpu while secure boot is disabled in the bios, that one stumped me for a bit!

But anyway I hope you're able to solve it without too much time/stress. Wish you luck!

Quote:
I know all about sidetracks.
Also trying to release an EP this month with my brother, full time work, 3 family birthdays this month, tech support for 99% of my friends & family, etc
definitely hard to keep up sometimes.

Quote:
Recent storms knocked out more gear

now that's sad. Sorry to hear
Reply With Quote
  #35  
01-15-2021, 11:16 PM
bbmaster123 bbmaster123 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Posts: 15
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
so I've had some time now to clean up my workspace, finish off the XP build, and I also found a complete x600 pro locally for $60 so I grabbed it. Now have 2 working capture devices! Of course, now I have an extra set of cables, so I'll probably list those soon.

I have created some samples from each. Some things look good, some not so much.

On the vcr side, I guess some of my cassettes are really worn because 1 of them got, not quite chewed up but nibbled at I guess Super tiny amount of damage. Took a minute to get it out, but another tape plays perfectly.

When I send direct from jvc to capture without tbc, the video is very jittery, many dropped frames. tbc on, some dropped frames, but motion is smooth ish. Expected result. Unexpected (to me), I get flagging at the top on this tape during certain scenes for short periods, coming and going, but goes away completely with tbc turned off.

In passthrough, it plays back perfectly with tbc on or off, but flagging still happens at times with tbc on only. Occurs at the exact same sections each time I play the tape.

There's also some ghosting, but I believe its embedded in the source footage.

On the capture side, from the results I'm getting right now, the aiw usb completely blows away the x600. So much so that I think I must have something set wrong or the card isn't 100% working correctly.(or possibly the domino, I haven't swapped for my new spare yet!) It looks like the x600 is dithering the colour, and what's weird is it doesn't look like that in the preview in vdub, but it does look like that during capture and test capture.

Captured 720x480i, huffyuv, 0 dropped/inserted frames on each, saved to avi on one of my hdd in a hot swap bay, over to my windows 10 system that has a sata hdd toaster, 10 seconds later I compare my samples. I'm at least very happy with the convenience of that part.

here are a pair of shots from each device.


Attached Images
File Type: png aiw-usb.png (603.4 KB, 3 downloads)
File Type: png x600pro.png (608.3 KB, 3 downloads)
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Starting project, VHS to digital, is this good setup? pmu_82 Project Planning, Workflows 7 11-21-2019 06:53 AM
Help planning VHS capture project, best VCRs? BPHusker Project Planning, Workflows 6 03-21-2019 01:01 PM
Best PC setup for VHS transfer maikid Capture, Record, Transfer 3 07-20-2016 03:21 PM
More workflow clarifications, planning VHS to DVD project... Superstar Project Planning, Workflows 30 07-25-2009 03:50 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:33 PM