Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Project Planning, Workflows

LinkBack Thread Tools
12-11-2021, 09:39 AM
Free Member

TL-DR - Would it be worth adding a S-VHS VCR given my equipment? or would it be a waste of money?

This is my first post. I've read around for a few weeks now. I'm just another one of those DIYers looking to digitize my family's old home videos.

I want to send it to a professional but we have over 100 tapes (35 VHC-C, 35 mini DV, 35 VHS). It is not worth over 1k to us. However it is worth about $300-400 if we can figure it out.

The quality doesn't matter as long as faces can be seen and audio can be heard (according to everyone in my family). Its more about documentation than re-living the experiences. Plus we are going to send a pro anything we want in better quality.... but something in me really wants to get the best quality I can for my equipment.. and I feel like I'm close to having hardware that gets OK captures.

My day job is an IT guy so I feel pretty comfortable with a lot of the computer stuff. I feel like I already have most of the components but I only have the old family VCR... should I upgrade or would I even notice?

and I know everyone ALWAYS asks this.. but isn't there some option that is under $400 for an S-VHS VCR? I have googled the models from all the lists here just to try and find an inexpensive one but its been a losing battle. It would really help if avg prices were posted next to the VCRs in those stickys... being an IT guy its pretty baffling that old hardware can hold its value like that. Surely there were some budget S-VHSs that would work with my budget set up.

Here is the workflow I am thinking now (I already have these components):

MiniDV Camcorder <firewire> Firewire PCI card on WinXP

GE VG4230A VCR <component> DMR-ES10 <svideo> AIW 9600 AGP on WinXP