Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Project Planning, Workflows

LinkBack Thread Tools
12-23-2021, 02:59 PM
Free Member

Hello,
I just bought lordsmurf's complete workflow & need some help setting it up.
He sent the jvc sr-mv45, Big VooDoo TBC, and the pinnacle systems gmbh 510-usb rev:2.0.
I'm very new to this & need help knowing how to set this up.

What do I all need for cords?
Do I need a remote for the JVC?
How is everything supposed to be wired together?
What software should I be running on my Windows 10 PC to get the output there?

I know that's a lot of questions but I want to make sure I'm doing this right.
Thanks all,
-Gartrand
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

12-23-2021, 04:53 PM
Site Staff | Video

Thanked 2,458 Times in 2,090 Posts
Lot to unpack here.

For others reading, required notes:
- Big Voodoo TBCs are mostly bad, should be avoided. But certain models, from certain dates, with certain chips, are very good, essentially best of DataVideo and Cypress in a single unit. I don't come across these often, and list them in the marketplace when I do.
- Pinnacle cards are overall not great. Certain Pinnacle cards had long production life, with mid-production changes. And the revisions didn't reveal this. Some sub-versions were good, some not.
- Obviously the OP here is using good BV and Pinnacles.
- And great JVC deck, but only if refurbished. That model is a problem in non-refurb condition, almost always severely in need of maintenance and realign.
- NTSC vs. PAL also makes a difference with every piece here, this is an NTSC only setup.

Alright, on to the questions...

svideo from VCR to TBC, another svideo TBC to capture card

JVC power cord attached, BV has OEM 5V included (must be OEM!), Pinnacle powered via USB