Quantcast Do you need the remote to correctly work the Panasonic AG-1980 - digitalFAQ Forum
Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Project Planning, Workflows

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
01-29-2010, 04:42 PM
cyber-junkie cyber-junkie is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 232
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Hi
Think I found a pretty good deal on a Panasonic AG-1980 but it doen't have the remote, do you need it to full use the vcr?
Thanks
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
01-29-2010, 04:50 PM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is offline
Site Staff | Web Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4,367
Thanked 584 Times in 437 Posts
Most of the controls are on the deck itself, on the flip-down panel. The remote is very sparse, mostly control standard VCR functions likes PLAY, FF, REW, and STOP. The only thing found on the remote, and missing on the panel, is the ability to reset the tape counter to 0:00:00.

If you want to reset the counter, and there is no remote, you'll have to eject the tape and re-insert it. That's probably not an issue for most users.

- Did this site help you? Then upgrade to Premium Member and show your support!
- Also: Like Us on Facebook for special DVD/Blu-ray news and deals!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
01-31-2010, 11:07 AM
dyfan dyfan is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 127
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
Back when I bought my deck, I searched out a companion remote. Here's a current link to an auction:

http://cgi.ebay.com/Panasonic-VEQ171...item51902fc894

Get one that doesn't have a broken or that is missing the door altogether...It should look like this:

http://www.replacementremotes.com/st...productid=7864

I bought one because I wanted one (for a "complete" product package...) I have used it a couple of times, too.

Hope this helps you.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank dyfan for this useful post: admin (01-31-2010)
  #4  
02-04-2010, 07:49 PM
*Bix* *Bix* is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 58
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
Remotes.com has it thought the listing is somewhat confusing: http://www.remotes.com/remotes/servl...12653344260750
Reply With Quote
  #5  
02-08-2010, 12:35 PM
cyber-junkie cyber-junkie is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 232
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Just got the AG-1980...no power cord, cheap people!!!, looks like a regular computer power cord will work, will it?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
02-08-2010, 12:55 PM
dyfan dyfan is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 127
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
Any type of IBM-styled (modular) monitor AC power cord will work. Here's a link to a 10' cable:

http://www.amazon.com/StarTech-com-1...5655053&sr=8-4

Hope this helps you!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
02-08-2010, 07:10 PM
cyber-junkie cyber-junkie is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 232
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Thanks
Looked like a standard computer power cable.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
02-09-2010, 01:04 AM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is offline
Site Staff | Web Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4,367
Thanked 584 Times in 437 Posts
Most broadcast-grade VCRs (intended for rack mounting) used a number of "universal" parts -- power cords being one of them. It's just a standard power cord like you find for most monitors, computers and laser printers.

- Did this site help you? Then upgrade to Premium Member and show your support!
- Also: Like Us on Facebook for special DVD/Blu-ray news and deals!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
02-19-2010, 11:28 AM
cyber-junkie cyber-junkie is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 232
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Whats the lifespan of the 1980? overall is it a real well built unit and can go for miles and miles or with all the bells and whistles does it make it a bit fragile, I see quite a few in need of repair on ebay...but maybe people are just trying to make a quick buck and unload there non working units.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
02-19-2010, 11:46 AM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is offline
Site Staff | Web Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4,367
Thanked 584 Times in 437 Posts
The 1980 is a rack-mounted broadcast unit most of the time -- it gets used for 10's or even 100's of thousands of hours. Some of them ran daily, 52 weeks a year, for a decade. Often you'll find units unloaded by colleges, where students (and even faculty) would not properly handle or take care of the equipment.

They are well built, but often were put in environments that beat the hell out of them. Most other VCRs would have died years ago.

This site, and some of the members here that post on other sites, is often responsible for some of the "runs" you see on video equipment. It wasn't until we really started to suggest use of the Panasonic AG-1980 / AG-1980P in 2008-2009 that prices on them began to ramp up, as there was sudden demand. And yes, many people wanted to cash in on this, and you'll notice a lot of poor condition equipment. Just 3-4 years ago, you didn't see many AG-1980 decks for sale.

We've seen this happen with certain brands/mades of VCRs, proc amps, TBCs, detailers, DVD recorders and capture cards. I wish we could get commissions on all those sales that we've surely helped make!

- Did this site help you? Then upgrade to Premium Member and show your support!
- Also: Like Us on Facebook for special DVD/Blu-ray news and deals!
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking for a JVC JIG remote Tom_n_Jonna Marketplace 2 02-09-2015 01:37 AM
Panasonic AG-1980 as good as JVC S-VHS VCR ? ramrod Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 1 11-13-2009 07:33 PM
Remote Trigger Canon Photo Cameras: Buying & Shooting 1 02-17-2009 12:19 AM
Remote help. MOTUfan Capture, Record, Transfer 3 05-11-2007 02:24 PM
Who is the admin and who does he work for admin General Discussion 0 01-24-2004 12:18 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:23 PM