Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Project Planning, Workflows

LinkBack Thread Tools
06-19-2010, 07:24 PM
Site Staff | Video

Thanked 2,458 Times in 2,090 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbartley9
Hi, just joined and have been very happy with all the great advice in these forums. Awesome site!
Glad to hear it!

Quote:
OK, I am assembling eqpt for transfer of old VHS and VHS-C tapes to a Macbook Pro for editing in FCP and then burn to DVD. Already have a good JVC VHS-C camera for VHS-C playback (has TBC/DNR built in), and also just purchased a used JVC SR-VD400U D-VHS player, new AVT-8710, and used Vidicraft VDM300S proc amp / detailer.
Using a Mac is always a challenge for analog-to-digital video conversion work. Now I have nothing against a Mac, I've been using Apple computers for at least 20 years now. But they are a niche system, built around certain workflows. When it comes to video tasks, they're best used for editing digitally-shot video tapes/cards out of your own camera. These days, that's mostly going to be DV and some of the HDV/H.264 type formats. So you have a bit of a challenge, from that angle. The hardware and software is not really made for tape-to-DVD work (tape-to-Youtube, etc).

Watch out about those VHS-C cameras -- they're evil and eat tapes. I really like my JVC S-VHS-C camera, but I've started to use the JVC-made powered VHS-C to VHS adapter inside a Panasonic AG-1980P S-VHS VCR. It's not eaten any tapes. But even if it did, I could open the deck and "un-eat" the tape. When the tape is crammed in the little VHS-C/S-VHS-C cameras, you're screwed. You'll further abuse the tape getting it out of the cams.

The D-VHS player is probably a good buy. (Note that I still don't trust VHS-C tapes in any JVC branded VCRs, pro or otherwise. Experience. Only use them for VHS/S-VHS tapes, not the compact "C" versions.)

Vidicraft detailer + proc amp unit is probably another good item you have there.