06-29-2012, 02:20 PM
Free Member

I am a beginner desiring help please.
Goal; is to design work flow to capture from Canon Gl-2 directly (in real time 2 hours in length) by PC / capture card. Capture format MPEG-2 (no editing required as defined by articles I have read dF).
The Desired Capture quality excellent.
MPEG-2 files will have multiple functions:
1 - for projector and flat screens,
2 - for YouTube streaming. YouTube format I am not clear on. Each file will be two hours in length. How does this affect my format choses?
My Canon GL-2 camera has DV, and S-Video out. Which world serves me best?
I have read that ATI and NLE storm might be good chooses?
I have the camera, old PC’s XP / 1 with 1 x AGP 8x, another i5 PC win7 with nothing to do your thoughts are very welcome
Thank you
Mark
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

07-01-2012, 02:00 AM
Site Staff | Video

Thanked 2,448 Times in 2,080 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Grimm View Post
I am a beginner desiring help please.
Welcome to the site.

Quote:
Goal; is to design work flow to capture from Canon Gl-2 directly (in real time 2 hours in length) by PC / capture card. Capture format MPEG-2 (no editing required as defined by articles I have read dF).
The Desired Capture quality excellent.
This will really only look good if it's from a tripod-mounted camera. Given the tethered required, I'll assuming that's the plan anyway.

You only have two real options:
(1) a hardware MPEG capture card or capture stick
(2) or one of the suggested ATI capture cards

Quote:
MPEG-2 files will have multiple functions:
1 - for projector and flat screens,
Does this have to be compressed DVD-Video compliant video? Or better Blu-ray compliant? Or yet-higher broadcast grade? DVD-Video caps bitrate at 9.8Mbps. Blu-ray caps at 15Mbps. Broadcast is in the 15Mbps to 50Mbps range, averaging at 20-25. The more bitrate, the better it's going to look, and the better it will work as a near-lossless format.

Quote: