Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Project Planning, Workflows

LinkBack Thread Tools
02-01-2013, 12:21 PM
Free Member

Hi folks.

Wauw, what a place I found here. So much useful info to be found - I love it.

My mother-in-law has ordered me to convert all of her and her late husbands VHS-C tapes into DVD. No questions to be asked - just get it done. Well, actually I think it could be a funny project, so I accepted (as if I had a choise).

Having read some of the golden threads in here, I feel I'm well of on the right track, but of course I can use some advice since I'm a complete newbie in this field... willing to learn though

So far I have managed to get my hands on a Panasonic NV-SV 121 vcr. It's in good condition and plays standard tapes very well. Btw I'm only going to do PAL conversions.

Now I'm looking for a vhs-c adapter, and here is where I could use a little help. I'm in doubt what to buy since I would like to get best quality... Can i settle with a (new) no-name model or should a go for a brand e.g. JVC?

Hope someone can give some advice
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

02-01-2013, 01:11 PM
Free Member

I've only ever used one VHS-C adapter, so I can't provide much insight about different brands and models... but I will say that the one I've used has worked great: Panasonic "VHS Playpak" ... I'm not sure if they're still manufactured (I'd guess not), but the only Amazon hit has obscenely high prices:

http://www.amazon.com/Panasonic-Play.../dp/B00006JPWT

I do see a Maxell VHS-C adapter for $24.99, maybe an admin can comment if they know anything about it:
http://www.amazon.com/Maxell-VHS-C-A...ds=vhs+playpak

I do note a couple of 1-star reviews, but as discussed elsewhere on this forum, retail website customer reviews should be taken with a grain of salt.

Maybe look for the Panasonic one on eBay or Craigslist.

Last edited by jbd5010; 02-01-2013 at 01:15 PM. Reason: Said "thread"... meant "forum"
02-01-2013, 01:44 PM