12-06-2013, 06:00 PM
Free Member

I am new to the subject of video editing and have been reading several of the guides on the digitalFAQ website, but I'm afraid I'm just getting more confused.
Let me start by defining what I am trying to accomplish and the tools I've used so far. My first objective is to be able to create good looking slideshow DVD's using still images (.JPG). I have had good success using the mediocre Roxio NXT. I like the Videowave interface for adding images, adding transitions, adding audio and creating text with special effects. I can create an MPEG file which I can use to author a DVD. That's where I run into problems because I use the Roxio MyDVD to author and burn the DVD. The attraction is it has many menu templates and they are easily customized. However, it re-encodes the project and has limited choices. This isn't a big problem with slideshows because I can match the burn settings with the settings I used to create the MPEG file in Videowave.
Now let's get to my real issue and that is some workflow and software advice when it comes to creating a video DVD where the source is an existing DVD. The existing DVDs were created by recording off TV or VCR tapes with a DVD recorder. Now I would like to extract the original video/audio, do some minor editing by removing commercials, etc. and hopefully improving the quality of the video. As I said, I am a novice and just started experimenting. I have used WinXDVD Ripper to extract the original material to a MPEG file, but I don't really understand what I am (or should) be doing.