06-13-2015, 12:05 PM
Free Member

Hi,

I am new to this but have put together the below set of resources for my use:

VCRs - Panasonic AG-1980P, JVC HR-S9900U, HR-S8000U, HR-S4600U, Sanyo VWM-800, Philips VR-6785
TBCs - TVOne Task 1T-TBC-GL, I.DEN I7-IVT
Scaler - Extron DVS 204
Capture Cards - StarTech PEXHDCAP, Roxio Video Capture USB, WinTV-HVR 950Q

I have not yet received the TVOne but love the enhanced output provided by the I.DEN. Problem is that the I.Den is very old and I can't find a service manual for it to make the right adjustments. Somebody has already fiddled with the internal adjustments along with the ones behind the front cover. Also there has to be some bad caps in it because there is this odd rolling light line that rolls from right to left. So we will wait for our TVOne and sell the I.Den for parts/as-is.

Anyway, I couldn't find a 1980P to S9900U video comparison so I made one. I was disappointed with the JVC after having heard Lord Smurf compliment it so many times. I am afraid maybe mine is in disrepair or just has really worn heads. The capture rig was this:

VCR -> S-Video -> Extron DVS 204 -> StarTech PEXHDCap

Both VCRs had their TBCs enabled, the Extron had enhanced mode off and was set to 480P output. I feel the 1980P has a better picture for this particular setup. The left channel audio is the Panasonic and right channel is the JVC.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CMz_...ature=youtu.be

Thanks,

Chris
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

06-13-2015, 01:01 PM
Premium Member

Thanked 1,307 Times in 982 Posts
Sorry, but we're not responsible for anything YouTube does to your videos. An accurate evaluation requires a cut from your original capture, not something that's been deintelaced, resized, re-encoded, etc, etc., etc.
06-13-2015, 02:25 PM
Free Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by sanlyn View Post