Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Project Planning, Workflows

LinkBack Thread Tools
04-21-2019, 09:50 PM
Free Member

I know many of you have read this same opening a million times, but I'm a beginner when it comes to video capturing, editing, etc. The posts and community on here have really helped me get some of the building blocks to get started and give it a try, so thanks for that!

My hardware is mostly a collection of things I've obtained over the years and am trying to put them together to convert some old family VHS tapes onto DVDs with some decent quality. Below is kind of what I've done so far, but I feel like I may not be doing things as efficiently as I should be. I'll put a summary of where I'm at below and where I'd like to get:

I have a Zenith 3850R-Z290H VCR and a AVerMedia EZMaker 7 capture card. I've used VirtualDub to capture using Lagarith lossless compression. I was having trouble with getting Huffyuv to show up as an option in VirtualDub, so I went with Lagarith. I followed some general guides on the forums for the size and capture settings. It creates about a 65GB AVI for a 2 hour VHS video, which I think is about right, and the capture looked/sounded good to me.

After that I did some minor video edits within VirtualDub and then saved (File>save as AVI) the new edited video which was almost 100GB. It seemed like at this point I was going about it wrong. I also saved a WAV of the audio from virtualdub, imported that into Audacity, where I did some audio effects (noise reduction) to help reduce some of the buzz sound the video had, and then saved a "fixed" audio WAV out of Audacity. I was going to then import the edited AVI file and the "fixed" audio into a program to compress it down to fit on a DVD.