Quantcast Equipment Setup. Help needed. - digitalFAQ Forum
  #1  
06-24-2019, 04:41 PM
priya69 priya69 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 30
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Hi to everyone.
First time setting up my workflow.
Want to ask what would be the best way to connect my equipment.
connections using S-Video to connect everything
Mostly have VHS tapes

My equipment list:

JVC HR-S7600U S-VHS VCR
Panasonic DMR-ES15 DVD Recorder
ATI AIW USB

setup1. JVC (TBC-ON) > ES15 > ATI AIW > Win.XP
setup2. JVC (TBC-OFF) > ES15 > ATI AIW >Win.XP
setup3. JVC (TBC-ON) > ATI AIW > Win.XP

Or any other setup or other settings to be made in the JVC or Panasonic DVD menu. Thanks

Last edited by priya69; 06-24-2019 at 04:51 PM.
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
06-24-2019, 04:58 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 8,477
Thanked 1,392 Times in 1,224 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by priya69 View Post
setup1. JVC (TBC-ON) > Pansonic DVD > ATI AIW > Win.XP
You can't do this. It negates the minimalist TBC(ish) of the ES15. The first line TBC owns the signal. If JVC is on, ES15 cannot function. It's a reason this is a "TBC(ish)" setup, not normal/standard TBC.

Quote:
setup2. JVC (TBC-OFF) > Pansonic DVD > ATI AIW >Win.XP
This is correct.

Quote:
setup3. JVC (TBC-ON) > ATI AIW > Win.XP
You also cannot do this. Having no frame sync TBC will result in dropped frames, and the line TBC inside the VCR is not frame. It's line, not frame. Not the same.

The ES15 is a line TBC, sort of, with frame sync (not frame sync TBC). This confusing mess is why I just refer to it as a "minimalist TBC(ish)" for casual users. But also realize the lack of frame sync TBC can cause issues, which is why you should bolster the ES15 with a DVK or TBC-5000. Those are both weaker frame sync TBC that need somewhat purified signals, which is what the ES15 does. That addition makes it no longer be minimalist. The ES15+DVK or ES15+5000 is a powerful TBC(ish), though still not as ideal as pure framesync TBC (AVT-8170, TBC-1000, etc), with JVC line TBC enabled.

Did I make it more confusing?

Or hopefully you understand it better now?

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
06-24-2019, 05:07 PM
priya69 priya69 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 30
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Ok, I think I got what you're saying. Lol... with my limited funds available, can't buy more stuff or my wife will kick me out . I will use setup2 and see how it goes. Thanks for your help.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
06-24-2019, 08:40 PM
priya69 priya69 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 30
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
One other question what settings do I use in the menu on the JVC deck..
1. Video Calibration (On or Off)
2. Picture Control (Auto, Soft, Sharp, Edit)
3. Digital R3 (On or Off)
4. Video Stabilizer (On or Off)
5. S-Vhs Mode (On or Off)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
06-24-2019, 08:43 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 8,477
Thanked 1,392 Times in 1,224 Posts
There's a site guide for this.

Calibration = usually OFF
Picture Mode = AUTO/NORM
R3 = OFF
Stabilizer = almost always OFF (note: also force disengages JVC TBC if on)
S-VHS mode is for recording, does nothing

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
06-24-2019, 08:44 PM
priya69 priya69 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 30
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Awesome thanks
Reply With Quote
  #7  
06-25-2019, 02:41 PM
Bogilein Bogilein is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 66
Thanked 14 Times in 11 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by priya69 View Post
One other question what settings do I use in the menu on the JVC deck..
1. Video Calibration (On or Off)
2. Picture Control (Auto, Soft, Sharp, Edit)
3. Digital R3 (On or Off)
4. Video Stabilizer (On or Off)
5. S-Vhs Mode (On or Off)


different country as Lord Smurf come from, different answer



1. Video Calibration (B.E.S.T called on europe model) play the tape for about 10 seconds with the B.E.S.T function/Video calibration on (the B.E.S.T function needs about 7 seconds for the calibration) then rewind the tape and turn the B.E.S.T function/ video calibration off
2. Picture control (Edit Mode) the edit mode turns the VHS HQ image enhancers like the chroma line averaging and the lowpass off.
3. Digital R3 (you should capture a short sample with on/off and compare which one look s better)
4. Video Stabilizer (Off)
5. S-VHS Mode (only necessary for recording on video tape)
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows XP SP2 needed? priya69 Project Planning, Workflows 3 07-11-2019 01:53 PM
VHS capture setup feedback - more equipment needed? Kugelfang Project Planning, Workflows 6 04-22-2015 09:54 AM
How much RAM is needed for capturing video ? rocko Project Planning, Workflows 1 08-20-2011 10:54 PM
JVC DR-M10 recorder help needed restauroman Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 2 03-02-2010 08:40 PM
Baywatch Menu needed ninjastriker Author, Make Menus, Slideshows, Burn 7 01-14-2006 05:00 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:49 PM