digitalFAQ.com Forum

digitalFAQ.com Forum (https://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/)
-   Project Planning, Workflows (https://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/video-workflows/)
-   -   More OS details for preferred Win XP SP2 build? (https://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/video-workflows/9952-more-os-details.html)

BW37 08-12-2019 08:48 PM

More OS details for preferred Win XP SP2 build?

Hello,

Newbie here... First post.

I've been searching and reading posts here for a couple months as I'm begin my trek into conversion of my old 8mm, Hi8 home videos and some old VHS tapes to a digital form. As well as upgrading my source equipment, I'm inventorying my old PC's and OS's to see if I have what it takes to assemble a good capture PC. Luckily I'm a pack rat and have kept some useful stuff! I will probably try a couple systems built from the skeletons abandoned in the closet, one with an old original Radeon AIW (AGP 4X, 32MB) and another with an eBay PCIe X1800XL AIW (if it works). I have the dongles I need for both cards.

I also have a selection of original Windows XP OS's that I've purchased for home building my PC's including one XP Home with SP2, and two XP media center 2005's. I believe at least one of the media center versions is SP2 based and maybe both. Based on what I've read here, XP Media Center doesn't play well with the AIW hardware and software. But, if I recall, I don't have to install any of the media center stuff if I don't want to, and hopefully I can slipstream an installation ISO without it.

So my question is:
Does anyone have a recommended list of hotfixes, etc. to add to SP2 that they find works well (ie., better than without them)? Would the additoins be different if I used the XP Home version vs. one of the XP MC versions? If the best is to add NO hotfixes, all the better!