Quantcast Set Name Servers before uploading site? Or the other way around? - digitalFAQ Forum
Go Back    Forum > Digital Publishing / Web Sites > Web Design + Site Planning

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
03-24-2013, 07:38 PM
Mr. Rey Mr. Rey is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 78
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Which is the proper process?

Setting (redirecting) my name servers first and then uploading my site to my web host, or uploading my site to my web host first and then setting (redirecting) my name servers.
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
03-24-2013, 09:56 PM
kpmedia's Avatar
kpmedia kpmedia is offline
Site Staff | Web Hosting, Photo
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4,238
Thanked 353 Times in 331 Posts
If you upload via IP, it won't matter.
If you're uploading via something like "ftp.mysite.com" then the DNS first has to be setup so it knows where the server is.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Please Like Us on Facebook | Follow Us on Twitter

- Need a good web host? Ask me for help! Get the shared, VPS, semi-dedicated, cloud, or reseller you need.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
03-25-2013, 09:10 AM
Mr. Rey Mr. Rey is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 78
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
How do I upload via IP? Does it make a difference?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
03-26-2013, 04:59 AM
kpmedia's Avatar
kpmedia kpmedia is offline
Site Staff | Web Hosting, Photo
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4,238
Thanked 353 Times in 331 Posts
If you don't alread know your IP, "ping" it by server name.
Go to DOS (command prompt, or "cmd" in the Windows run window), and type "ping servername.com" and it should show the IP.

ping-ip.jpg

Note that I have ICMP (ping packets) response disabled, hence the timeouts.
But that not what matters here anyway. It still shows the IP.

It doesn't matter what you use -- same place.
The IP is simple bypassing nameservers (DNS), which is useful if NS isn't setup yet.

You can always add NS in your local computer HOSTS file. That's how I dev sites.

I would update NS as soon as you can.



- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Please Like Us on Facebook | Follow Us on Twitter

- Need a good web host? Ask me for help! Get the shared, VPS, semi-dedicated, cloud, or reseller you need.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank kpmedia for this useful post: Mr. Rey (03-27-2013)
  #5  
03-27-2013, 12:22 PM
Mr. Rey Mr. Rey is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 78
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
OK. Thanks KP.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Tags
name servers, redirecting, uploading, web host, web site

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to set up FTP to connect to website servers? admin Website and Server Troubleshooting 6 01-25-2018 12:14 PM
Any experiences or reviews for Atlantic.net servers? shorttime Web Hosting 2 08-07-2012 04:11 AM
Uploading all research materials for Premium Members admin General Discussion 0 07-22-2012 06:04 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:27 PM