Quantcast My domain names transferred to Namecheap -- what to do with 1&1 ? - digitalFAQ Forum
Go Back    Forum > Digital Publishing / Web Sites > Web Hosting

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
08-15-2012, 08:22 PM
Sossity Sossity is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 434
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
My domains are now with namecheap.com, they e-mailed me telling me my transfers have completed, but I notice they are still listed in my control panel in 1&1 when I logged into my 1&1 account.

What do I do if anything with 1&1? are they going to charge me to renew my domains even though I have transferred them?

Is there anything more I should do? with either name cheap or 1&1?
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
08-18-2012, 06:02 AM
TheMagician TheMagician is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
First cross check if your domain has been completely transferred to namecheap. 1&1's entire system is complex and not very smooth so I wouldn't be surprised is the domains are still listed.

-- Magician at Host4Geeks.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
08-19-2012, 01:37 AM
Sossity Sossity is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 434
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
I guess from the lack of replies, I have done everything I can do with namecheap & 1&1, 1&1 will not try to charge me come November-the renewal times for my domain names.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
08-19-2012, 03:22 AM
kpmedia's Avatar
kpmedia kpmedia is offline
Site Staff | Web Hosting, Photo
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4,296
Thanked 363 Times in 337 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sossity View Post
I guess from the lack of replies, I have done everything I can do with namecheap & 1&1, 1&1 will not try to charge me come November-the renewal times for my domain names.
I was actually just waiting to see if the status would change. 1&1 is probably just a really slow (i.e., poorly managed/automated) custom system, and it's going to show ghosts for a while. I'd check back in a few weeks, to see if anything has changed.

I would suggest canceling any service you have their with a clear tech support ticket, just to cover all bases.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Please Like Us on Facebook | Follow Us on Twitter

- Need a good web host? Ask me for help! Get the shared, VPS, semi-dedicated, cloud, or reseller you need.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
08-19-2012, 05:22 AM
Sossity Sossity is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 434
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
I am not sure exactly what to do here, do I contact 1&1 support via e-mail, with a ticket, & tell them what? that I no longer need their services? it feels as though I am getting a divorce, could this get messy? from what I have been warned/told about 1&1 I am a bit nervous.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
08-19-2012, 06:18 AM
kpmedia's Avatar
kpmedia kpmedia is offline
Site Staff | Web Hosting, Photo
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4,296
Thanked 363 Times in 337 Posts
Submit a ticket verifying the cancellation of your account.
Mention that your domains have been transferred to Namecheap, and ask why the domains are still shown in the 1&1 interface.

That's what I'd do.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Please Like Us on Facebook | Follow Us on Twitter

- Need a good web host? Ask me for help! Get the shared, VPS, semi-dedicated, cloud, or reseller you need.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
08-21-2012, 04:38 PM
Sossity Sossity is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 434
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Today, I got this reply from 1&1, There was this message for all 3 of my domain names.

Quote:
Dear Sossity Corby,
You requested to transfer your domain sossitycorby.com and 1&1 name server settings to a new provider. This domain is now listed at 1&1 as an "external domain" and the domain status is also currently designated "external domain" in the Control Panel. You will still be able to access the contents of your web space and e-mail addresses at 1&1 via this domain sossitycorby.com, provided the 1&1 domain name server settings transferred to your new provider remain unchanged. Please note that this service is free of charge and the domain sossitycorby.com will no longer incur any further fees at 1&1. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you have further questions.

does this mean that everything/ the transfer is complete from both sides? do I need to do anything else?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
08-26-2012, 07:22 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is online now
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 10,328
Thanked 1,782 Times in 1,547 Posts
I don't really know what that's supposed to mean. All I read is "blah blah blah".
They've invested terms like "external domain" which matches their nonsense custom panel's gibberish jargon.

Do you have hosting there? If so, is there a site actually hosted there?
Or maybe you had/have a hsoting account, and either didn't know or, or for some reason didn't use it?

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
10-02-2012, 12:50 AM
Sossity Sossity is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 434
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
I was only registered with 1&1, I did not do any hosting with them. I logged into my account, & looked at my domains in the control panel.

after each of my 3 domain names, It goes;
type: external domain
destination: webspace
registration: public
status: the domain is now ready
auto renewal: blank with just a - mark
renewal/expiration date: blank with just a - mark

i am not sure how to interpret this, all I want to make sure is that they are completely transferred, & that 1&1 will not try to charge me now.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
10-03-2012, 12:08 AM
kpmedia's Avatar
kpmedia kpmedia is offline
Site Staff | Web Hosting, Photo
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4,296
Thanked 363 Times in 337 Posts
1&1 is essentially acknowledging that the domain is registered elsewhere. So that's good.

But the rest of it ?! .... Very weird.
Your account essentially confirms that ... you don't have ... an account?

Hilarious. Ridiculous. And sadly, all too expected from 1&1.

I don't think they'll attempt to charge you for anything. Your non-account account confirms that you don't have any services.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Please Like Us on Facebook | Follow Us on Twitter

- Need a good web host? Ask me for help! Get the shared, VPS, semi-dedicated, cloud, or reseller you need.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
10-03-2012, 08:41 AM
NJRoadfan NJRoadfan is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,093
Thanked 343 Times in 281 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kpmedia View Post
I don't think they'll attempt to charge you for anything. Your non-account account confirms that you don't have any services.
Don't be so sure of that, formally close the account. 1&1 is notorious for charging for services one no longer has.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank NJRoadfan for this useful post: kpmedia (10-03-2012)
  #12  
10-06-2012, 05:01 PM
Sossity Sossity is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 434
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by NJRoadfan View Post
Don't be so sure of that, formally close the account. 1&1 is notorious for charging for services one no longer has.
how do I go about formally closing the account? I want a clean break from them.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
10-09-2012, 08:36 AM
kpmedia's Avatar
kpmedia kpmedia is offline
Site Staff | Web Hosting, Photo
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4,296
Thanked 363 Times in 337 Posts
The most you can do is send in a ticket to billing, requesting your entire account be closed/removed/deleted. If the 1&1 support system emails you a copy of that ticket, print it out, and put it in your file cabinet -- the same place you put all of your credit card statements for the card that was used there. It will serve as evidence of discontinuation of service, if needed later.

The biggest problem with 1&1 isn't their slow/oversold servers, but that their billing/admin departments are complete crap.

As far as I can tell, you have open-but-unused account. I have those at hosts myself. That's just a situation of them not purging you. In most cases, I went in and changed all of my information to dummy/fake info (John Smith, 123 Street St, LA CA 90210, 555-888-1212), deleted the credit cards on file, etc. Though I've not used 1&1 in years, I wouldn't be surprised if an account still existed.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Please Like Us on Facebook | Follow Us on Twitter

- Need a good web host? Ask me for help! Get the shared, VPS, semi-dedicated, cloud, or reseller you need.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Client wants email address for domain she doesn't own! kpmedia Web Design + Site Planning 3 11-08-2012 12:31 PM
Switching from 1&1 to Namecheap eed EPP codes ? Sossity Web Hosting 2 08-06-2012 12:09 PM
Create a sub-domain for the sales page and opt-in pages? kpmedia Website and Server Troubleshooting 0 11-08-2010 08:13 PM
Best SCART cable brand names ? manthing Videography: Cameras, TVs and Players 3 03-25-2006 03:17 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:06 AM