digitalFAQ.com Forum

digitalFAQ.com Forum (https://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/)
-   Web Hosting (https://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/web-hosting/)
-   -   Shared vs. Semi-Dedicated Hosting for WordPress site? (https://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/web-hosting/5939-shared-vs-semi.html)

Leah 06-08-2014 02:09 AM

Shared vs. Semi-Dedicated Hosting for WordPress site?

Newbie here. I’ve researched hosting for 1 week getting nowhere, but finally stumbled onto this gem of a forum! I’ve read most of the posts here but still not sure if I should start with Shared or Semi-Dedicated?

I am creating my first website likely with Wordpress. My website will start with 500+ images, totaling 14 MB or more - no video, no audio, no downloads, no ecommerce. I will add new images daily. I want to prepare for 1000s daily visitors. I’m located in the U.S.

Questions

1 - Where am I on the spectrum of Shared hosting? Am I in the middle or borderline using up all the resources?
2 – In my case, what type of hosting do you suggest? And which companies?
3 - If my site keeps growing in storage and traffic, do you foresee me needing Dedicated Hosting?
4 - Is it best to pick a company that you can upgrade with? Is it that difficult to migrate between different hosts?
5 - Because my site will have lots of images, should I pick a host that offers “unlimited” hosting?
6 - How much RAM and CPU do you suggest?

kpmedia 06-08-2014 04:58 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Leah (Post 32144)
Newbie here. I’ve researched hosting for 1 week getting nowhere, but finally stumbled onto this gem of a forum! I’ve read most of the posts here but still not sure if I should start with Shared or Semi-Dedicated?

Thanks! Let's see if we can help you decide... [x2x]

Quote: