Quantcast What happens when SPF, DomainKeys, DKIM not used ? - digitalFAQ.com Support Forum
Go Back   digitalFAQ.com Support Forum > Digital Publishing / Web Design > Web/Print Publishing Technology

Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
02-04-2012, 10:38 PM
kpmedia's Avatar
kpmedia kpmedia is offline
Site Staff / Owner and Editor
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,306
Thanks: 84
Thanked 138 Times in 132 Posts
I just wanted to give a good example of how legitimate mail, from a large and well-known website/domain, gets discarded directly into the "Spam" folder at a large email provider like Yahoo, GMail, or Hotmail (and possibly your own hosted email domain or ISP email account).

SPF records identify that your server IP is allowed to send email on behalf of the domain in question.
DomainKey and DKIM records sign an email that verifies it came from the permitted servers.

This was an email I found in my Yahoo spam folder days after it was sent:

Quote:
Hey kpmedia! Long time no see... it's been a while since you visited Answers.com.
You didn't think we'd forget you that easily, did you? We miss your wonderful contributions!
Can you answer these?
  • How many presents do Mexicans get at Christmas?
  • How do you add a picture to your Pidgin account?
  • What rhymes with considered?
No? Head straight to Answers.com For tips, suggestions and how-tos, please visit our details Help Center.
Please do not reply to this message. Questions? Contact our Support Team
Copyright © Answers Corp. 2012 / Terms of Use / Privacy Policy / IP Issues / Disclaimer
Here's the mail headers. (Note that I've removed my email address [XXXXXXXXXXXX])
Code:
From Answers.com Sat Feb  4 16:35:29 2012
X-Apparently-To: XXXXXXXXXXXX via 98.139.220.225; Sat, 04 Feb 2012 16:35:30 -0800
Return-Path: <XXXXXXXXXXXX=yahoo.com@bounces.answers.com>
X-YahooFilteredBulk: 67.196.157.50
Received-SPF: none (domain of bounces.answers.com does not designate permitted sender hosts)
X-YMailISG: <removed>
X-Originating-IP: [67.196.157.50]
Authentication-Results: mta1199.mail.bf1.yahoo.com from=answers.com; domainkeys=neutral (no sig); from=answers.com; domainkeys=neutral (no sig)
Received: from 127.0.0.1 (EHLO smtp03.nj1.answers.com) (67.196.157.50) by mta1199.mail.bf1.yahoo.com with SMTP; Sat, 04 Feb 2012 16:35:30 -0800
Received: from at-waweb01.nj1.answers.com (ltm01a-sip16.nj1.answers.com [10.16.16.17] (may be forged)) by smtp03.nj1.answers.com (8.13.8/8.13.8) with ESMTP id q150ZT9k004465 for <XXXXXXXXXXXX>; Sun, 5 Feb 2012 00:35:29 GMT
Received: (from www@localhost) by at-waweb01.nj1.answers.com (8.13.8/8.13.8/Submit) id q150ZTTj013161; Sun, 5 Feb 2012 00:35:29 GMT
Date: Sun, 5 Feb 2012 00:35:29 GMT
Message-Id: <201202050035.q150ZTTj013161@at-waweb01.nj1.answers.com>
To: kpmedia <XXXXXXXXXXXX>
Subject: You're missed in the Answers.com community
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-type: text/html; charset=utf-8
Content-transfer-encoding: 8bit
From: "Answers.com" <noreply@answers.com>
X-Mailer: wiki.answers.com gurus
Content-Length: 8985
Note the important data revealed by the email headers:
  • Received-SPF: none (domain of bounces.answers.com does not designate permitted sender hosts)
  • domainkeys=neutral (no sig)
  • domainkeys=neutral (no sig)
With this data missing, the subject line may as read "I am spam, delete me" to the recipient mail server.

This was NOT a spoofed or fake mail. It was clean and authentic, sent from Answers.com. However, it was so badly done, that it was diverted into my junk/spam filters. (Not that I consider Answers.com a good site anyway. It's mostly just search engine spam, with answers largely given by random, stupid, incorrect people. I don't even know why I registered there anymore, but can verify that I was a member for some reason.)

__________________

Need a good host?
Find one here from our list: List of the Best Web Hosts in 2012 - Shared, reseller and VPS hosting
__________________
- Thanks for visiting! | Advertise on The Digital FAQ | Upgrade to Premium Member
- Please Like Us on Facebook | Follow Us on Twitter
Reply With Quote


Reply



Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:33 PM  —  vBulletin Copyright © 2011 Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd  —  SEO by vBSEO