Quantcast Problem editing pages in WordPress, visual editor is not opening! - digitalFAQ Forum
Go Back    Forum > Digital Publishing / Web Sites > Website and Server Troubleshooting

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
05-31-2012, 11:04 PM
faustine faustine is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 69
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I'm getting worried now that the JaguarPC Los Angeles datacenter servers have problems!
Currently editing pages in WordPress is a bane as Visual editor is not opening!

Thank you.


This question has been split from another post or thread. This was done in order to address the topic more in depth, make it easier to find via forum searches, as well as prevent the other post/thread from going too far off-topic. Please continue this part of the conversation here. Thanks for understanding our tech Q&A policies.

Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
05-31-2012, 11:31 PM
faustine faustine is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 69
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
LOL... think my bad. .I just troubleshooted the Wordpress, and it was Ultimate TinyMCE plugin that was the problem.. i don't know why....
After the site migration, lots of things do not work....
Have since used Advanced TinyMCE instead...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
05-31-2012, 11:56 PM
kpmedia's Avatar
kpmedia kpmedia is offline
Site Staff | Web Hosting, Photo
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4,304
Thanked 367 Times in 338 Posts
Issues with WordPress can be caused by many things. A common fault is the cache, when the issue appears shortly after migration. This applies both to WordPress cache plugins, as well as server-side caching (APC, memcached, Varnish, etc). Always disable (and purge) cache plugins before migration. If you mess up, and don't disable it beforehand, you may need to uninstall (or delete the plugin files), and manually remove the caching files via FTP. Then reinstall it.

I generally dissuade WP users from exchanging the native WYSIWYG editor. The plugins tend to be worse, not better.

The same applies to vBulletin, MyBB, phpBB, SMF, and quite a few other content management systems.

I'm having a heck of a time with a vBulletin site right now, for this very reason. And I just finished having one with a phpBB site, too. So even when you know what you're doing, systems can revolt anyway.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Please Like Us on Facebook | Follow Us on Twitter

- Need a good web host? Ask me for help! Get the shared, VPS, semi-dedicated, cloud, or reseller you need.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
06-01-2012, 12:27 AM
faustine faustine is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 69
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Well the default TinyMCE, doesn't have Insert Table function.. hehe.. which we all need!

I didn't install any Cache plugin for his WP... so maybe I had to remove cache manually -- but I don' really know where to delete in WP folders. LOL

I guess it was the same with Opencart, I had to remove some cache for it to work again...

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
06-01-2012, 12:31 AM
kpmedia's Avatar
kpmedia kpmedia is offline
Site Staff | Web Hosting, Photo
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4,304
Thanked 367 Times in 338 Posts
I understand the table issue.
Have you considered using WP-Table Reloaded instead? Available at http://wordpress.org/extend/plugins/wp-table-reloaded/

I've been looking to write a better table plugin, when I get a chance. Maybe later in the year?

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Please Like Us on Facebook | Follow Us on Twitter

- Need a good web host? Ask me for help! Get the shared, VPS, semi-dedicated, cloud, or reseller you need.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
06-01-2012, 01:10 AM
faustine faustine is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 69
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
you're a dear!! LOL
I'll consider using that Table Reloaded.... plugin for my own site...
His is just a temporary WP while I'm doing the Opencart for him.
USD is up.... which will increase the cost of his Oc extensions unfortunately..
Reply With Quote
  #7  
06-03-2012, 01:44 AM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is offline
Site Staff | Web Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4,341
Thanked 625 Times in 449 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by faustine View Post
increase the cost of his Oc extensions unfortunately..
Have you considered Magento instead of OpenCart?
I find that there's more free extensions and themes available, and I far prefer coding Magento sites.

- Did this site help you? Then upgrade to Premium Member and show your support!
- Also: Like Us on Facebook for special DVD/Blu-ray news and deals!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
06-03-2012, 02:21 AM
faustine faustine is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 69
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Unfortunately I have started on the theme he wants for his OC.

And I think Magento is resources hungry?
The themes also cost more.
I'm not really a coder and I'm more geared towards OC.. for its ease of use...

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
06-05-2012, 01:34 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,091
Thanked 1,970 Times in 1,699 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by faustine View Post
And I think Magento is resources hungry?
It can be.

It really depends on the size of the store, and how well-coded any non-OOB (out of the box) modules are. Like any other PHP application -- be it WordPress, vBulletin, Joomla, etc -- the quality of the coding, combined with the size of the traffic, really determines the resource use. I've seen WordPress sites with 100 daily visitors tank a server, while a better site can support thousands of users effortlessly.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
06-05-2012, 11:02 PM
faustine faustine is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 69
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Don't really wanna take that chance... I did try the demo of Magento quite some back.. its way too robust..... for me to fully understand.. and just the fact about resource turned me off.

Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MySQL query to disable comments on WordPress posts/pages admin Website and Server Troubleshooting 0 10-02-2011 06:07 PM
Trouble opening Mainconcept file unclescoob Encode, Convert for discs 9 09-18-2011 06:08 AM
Embed videos on web pages with Flowplayer admin Encode, Convert for streaming 0 04-16-2010 05:38 PM
More pages per page in WordPress admin kpmedia Website and Server Troubleshooting 0 01-03-2010 10:39 PM
Problem with opening Mpeg-2 file with TMPGEnc Plus MBates05 Encode, Convert for discs 4 07-19-2005 05:51 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:36 PM