digitalFAQ.com Forum

digitalFAQ.com Forum (https://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/)
-   Videography: Cameras, TVs and Players (https://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/home-video/)
-   -   Sony CCD-TRV65E weird object in viewfinder, noise? (https://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/home-video/13242-sony-ccd-trv65e.html)

sebastiaaan 01-19-2023 11:13 AM

Sony CCD-TRV65E weird object in viewfinder, noise?

3 Attachment(s)
Hi there,

first of all I'm very thankful that I found this forum. Within the last few days I have learnt a lot about properly capturing analog video and been taking buying advice.
I have never shot anything tape (only film) so I'm pretty new to this (born '99) but today I finally got my first Hi8 camera, a Sony CCD-TRV65E. I followed the buyers guide and this camera was listed as having Stereo, TBC and S-Video - I just assume the E stands for the PAL model, correct me if I'm wrong. I couldn't find any other models in my country except maybe 4 or 5 but they were asking for 250€+. I managed to snag this for 120€ but I don't know if this was even a good deal or not, the Sony camcorder wiki says this model was "lower" class. But I'm not sure if I even need anything "better".

Okay enough of this, after fiddling around and finally understanding how to properly insert tape (lol) I noticed some weird thing in my viewfinder. To me it looks like some sort of caterpillar, you can't make it out on the photos but it's orange/brownish.

Attachment 16003
Attachment 16004