Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Videography: Cameras, TVs and Players

LinkBack Thread Tools
03-22-2023, 06:18 PM
Free Member

Hi everyone!

Thanks for taking the time to read and apologies in advance for my lack of knowledge. I'm a young filmmaker who recently purchased a SONY CCD TRV48e , mainly because I wanted to watch and digitize all of the old tapes that my Dad recorded back in the day but also because I've always loved how the footage looks.

I've spent many hours researching how to do this the correct way but it's all getting a bit confusing. I already have a VCR (Panasonic DMR-EX98V) and the camcorder, but I'm getting lost with the process and what further equipment I need to buy, as a lot of guides seem outdated or are recommending equipment that is no longer available. If someone is able to help me with a simple work-flow, or which TBC to purchase, or if I even need one with this VCR, as well as which capture card, it would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks again
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

03-28-2023, 07:24 AM
Free Member

Quote:
...because I've always loved how the footage looks.
Interesting comment. Back in the day 15 to 25 years ago many videographers were striving to get that "film look."

A few thoughts follow

Much of the gear you need for the best practicable capture of consumer analog video is legacy gear found on the used equipment market. And much of it is in uncertain condition, especially that found on auction sites. Buying there entails considerable risk of disappointment, and too many sellers are clueless or outright fabricators of condition claims. So you will be best served buying from known, reputable sources.

There are a number of acceptable makes/models, largely detailed in other threads here. Buy, use, sell is a common practice for short term projects. (as opposed to serious hobby work)
- s-video connections for analog video (component can work better but was not common for consumer gear)