Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Videography: Cameras, TVs and Players

LinkBack Thread Tools
12-22-2010, 04:11 AM
Premium Member

My family likes video & likes me to make DVDs even though I prefer photography, I find video very complex & problem prone.

But if I end up getting a full blown video camera, I need some help & suggestions for some

I am a novice to video, so far I have just shot video with a digital still camera, & edited with roxio easy media creator. I eventually gave up as I had video & audio sync problems. I was glad to give up as well, as family was pressuring me to crank out DVDs'.

they would shoot in low light & in the excitement of new footage would want a DVD so they could watch the footage right way on the TV.

I know it seems that alot of the video equipment today is made to hook to a TV to watch. But family prefers to have a DVD to play on a DVD player. We also have a standard def tube TV, (we are hanging on, not giving in to getting cable, but will eventually have to get a modern flat panel TV which may be high def, so I cannot rule high def capabilities out, I want the video camera to not be obsolete, but would like one that can shoot in standard def as well)

Also, among my family my mom & dad may use the camcorder as well, & they do not have the best eyesight, so easy to read buttons & levers are preferred.

I need something that can shoot well in low light, which is what the video would be shot in most of the time. Also, memory card media is preferred to tapes. Although My family did like the look of those video cameras that could record directly to a mini DVD, this would also relieve me of having to transfer & make DVD's in a video editor to watch on a TV.