digitalFAQ.com Forum

digitalFAQ.com Forum (https://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/)
-   Blank Media (https://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/media/)
-   -   How and where are commercial DVDs made? (https://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/media/5811-how-commercial-dvds.html)

student1111 03-24-2014 07:39 PM

How and where are commercial DVDs made?

Hello! I am a student working on a research project. Sorry if this is a little off topic. I was reading the article on blank DVDs and was wondering if anyone knew where companies like Fox and CBS get their discs for TV shows and things like that. Do they write them themselves? Do they make the actual discs? If not, where do they buy them? What companies do they hire to make their discs?

If anyone has any info or sources they could lead me to I would be very grateful. Thanks!!

lordsmurf 03-24-2014 08:35 PM

Understand that companies like Fox and CBS don't actually produce the DVDs. In fact, CBS doesn't really own anything, and is just the broadcaster -- although it may have to sign off on certain rights. Fox has an entertainment wing, and owns shows, but isn't really in the DVD business. It's in the content broadcast and ownership business.

Note: I use "DVD" here, but it refers to anything physical -- tapes, Blu-ray, Laserdisc, etc.

Another company is contracted (or as in the case of companies like Mill Creek, they approach the content owner) to acquire and distribute the content. That company may or may not do it's own work either, outsourcing each piece to others -- capturing, editing, authoring, creating artwork, pressing (like burning). It's not any different from home workflow that avoid all-in-one software.

The recessions of 2003 and 2008-2009 really hurt the world of DVD media -- everything from manufacturers to suppliers to replication companies (pressers). A lot of companies are gone now. And like other aspects of DVD media, it's almost a shadow industry that can be hard to track.