Go Back    Forum > Featured > General Discussion

LinkBack Thread Tools
05-26-2022, 08:01 PM
Free Member

I知 brand new to the forum but happy to be here. I have been a videographer, video editor, and filmmaker for some years now. But I am looking to create a digital transfer company in my local area. I have now seen how much it costs for this professional equipment that is needed. I just wanted to get some advice from other people on the forum about starting a business. Can you actually make good money doing a digital transfer business? Is it worth it? Or is it a flooded market? Thank you for any input that you may have.
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

05-26-2022, 08:41 PM
Site Staff | Video

Thanked 2,449 Times in 2,081 Posts
When you have a business, you must understand that you'll get a wide array of videos, with all sorts of signal and physical conditions. So what you may know from your own personal experiences does not translate too well. The way to prepare for it is through quality equipment. Not budget gear, not low-end consumer gear (DVD recorders), but pro and hobby/prosumer gear. Noting that pro gear can get "too pro", as you are dealing with consumer formats here. The must be a balance.

Follow advice. Not random advice, not Youtube advice. But the advice of people who have done this for many years, decades. People who are respected, vetted. (Yes, I'd consider myself on such a list, but there are others. I have colleagues, peers, and do respect some of them very much. Some participate in the forum, some not. We have some friendly disagreements at times, on how to arrive at an outcome. But we generally agree on aspects such as actual TBCs, pre-Win10 systems, etc.)

Realize that PAL and NTSC experiences vary more than NTSC to NTSC, PAL to PAL. Some stark differences in some methods, mostly do to hardware.