Go Back    Forum > Featured > General Discussion

LinkBack Thread Tools
11-08-2022, 02:01 PM
Free Member

I find myself with money and VHS tapes I want to digitize but no time. I'm also an electrical engineer and a software engineer and a general nerd so building the rack and running it is going to be a DIY affair. My goal is to preserve the analog signal from the tapes and onto a hard drive that I will deal with later on an as-needed basis.

Generally, I'm trying to figure out which part of the conversion workflow I absolutely need to do while I have the physical tapes. Clearly I need a good S-VHS unit or two and a capture card. But then I wonder:
  • Is there an approach that will digitize _most_ of the raw material I need with the expectation that I'll have to re-digitize some percentage of the tapes?
  • Are there issues I can only detect during correction that require the source tapes to correct?
  • Do I have to hand-review the results to know which VCR to use?
  • Can the secondary TBC be done later?
Or, more generally if you had a pile of VHS tapes, you wanted to preserve them with as little manual intervention as possible, and money and disk space were no object (barring multiple copies of each tape), how would you do it?

Thank you!
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

11-09-2022, 01:43 PM
Free Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by LoftyGoals View Post
Is there an approach that will digitize _most_ of the raw material I need with the expectation that I'll have to re-digitize some percentage of the tapes?
Follow the Virtualdub Settings Guide, pay attention to the part about histograms in order to set your brightness and contrast for a good capture. Occasionally I notice blown luma during restoration, then I have to go back and digitize the tape again. So keep the tapes nearby until you're sure you have a good capture.