01-31-2013, 07:40 PM
Premium Member

Going to purchase a new camera and looking for anyones advice on this sony camera that seems to be a pretty good buy at $800... I have always used nikon in the past and am a little biast towards the other brands but maybe i should think outside the box?? I am a semipro photographer and will use the camera for both my own personal stuff ie. My family/sporting events as well as doing some portrait/portfolio shoots for other people along with ocassional weddings for others.... My nikon d5000 recently was stolen and thats why upgrading now. My biggest issue in the past was that although i take good photographs that when i would go to print or enlarge they would always get auto cropped by whomever was printing them for me and that sucked... So again if anyone has any advice and can tell me the advantages of the sony a65 vs. The nikon d7000 or vice versa would be greatly appreciated! Thanks much
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

01-31-2013, 10:38 PM
Site Staff | Web Hosting, Photo

If you plan to do anything beyond basic photography (which is almost a given since you're looking at the D7000!), or some odd niche, my advice is to always stick to Canon or Nikon. Period. No Exceptions. Nikon and Canon have a much, much larger assortment of lenses and accessories, including from 3rd parties. As a self-described semi-pro photographer, I can guarantee you'll get pissed at the Sony at some point.

You're choice of shots sounds like mine. Sports, portrait, weddings, etc.

That Nikon D7000 is an absolutely incredible body. I convinced one of my oldest and closest friends to get one, having never even used a camera, and now I can't get him to put it down! He uses it from everything to videos of the baby, to some pretty nice shots of scenery. If I ever got another backup body in the crop form factor, this is what I'd get without hesitation. (I shoot with a Nikon D3s, and have a D200 as backup.)