Go Back    Forum > Featured > General Discussion

LinkBack Thread Tools
02-18-2023, 03:04 PM
Free Member

So I started trying to digitise my home video from the 90s and 00s back in 2018 and got overwhelmed by so may conflicting opinions.

Time has now passed so I thought I would have another go. I have read so so many forum guides and versions to do this and it's amazing how views change over the years and how many opinions there are. So I have pulled at the best ideas (I recon) and going to follow this process

So here goes and I'm putting this up as a guide to what and how Im doing it. So if Im making a real error here someone may have an opinion. I am not an expert or even a novice. Just a guy trying to capture his old films

I dont expect to get this done at the best 100% quality, just enough that we (i.e: family) can watch them again as and when we like

I'll be capturing VHS tape and also old camcorder tapes - being played on a VHS player (not the camcorder - it's dead) (UK - PAL) and I have an Adapter to put the camcorder tapes into as well as standard VHS tapes

I am using:
- WIN 10 64 bit
- Panasonic video player
- Dazzle DVC100 capture device
- VirtualDub (Capture)
- VirtualDub2 (Edit and Export)

- Using Lagarith (version 1.3.27) to capture, I am not using HuffYUY as I have read on this forum it has issues on Windows 10, which was proven right when I did a capture and the audio was out of sync with the video. I swapped to Lagarith and it was fine
- not using VirtualDub2 to capture - Lord Smurf said in a post to capture on standard VirtualDub not VirtualDub2. Therefore, I will be using VirtualDub2 to edit and compress

There will be 3 parts to my capture process:
1. The original capture that will be archived as a master
2. A version from the master - tidied up and compressed to watch whenever
3. A version from the master - tidied up, deinterlaced and compressed and uploaded to YouTube

Step 1 Capturing

1. Open VirtualDub and enter capture mode